Korg Radias in rack

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
coriolis1986
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:57 pm

Korg Radias in rack

Post by coriolis1986 » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:25 pm

Hi all.

I like a Radias synth and want to purchase it. But I prefer to use only rack version of synths and want to install Radias also into rack.

As I see from pictures, Radias will "eat" 3 units of rack space, which is ok. But this synth has connectors located at the edge side, but not in the rear. So, am I right that Radias will "eat" around 4-5U with cables connected?

thanks

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3906
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Korg Radias in rack

Post by Ashe37 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:34 am

if you use 90 degree plugs yeah it eats another rack space

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6036
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Korg Radias in rack

Post by meatballfulton » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:06 pm

Korg used the same scheme for the MS2000R, why they didn't correct it for the Radias is beyond me. Don't forget the power switch is on the back, too!

When I owned one I left two empty rack spaces above it.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

coriolis1986
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:57 pm

Re: Korg Radias in rack

Post by coriolis1986 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:08 pm

meatballfulton wrote:Korg used the same scheme for the MS2000R, why they didn't correct it for the Radias is beyond me. Don't forget the power switch is on the back, too!

When I owned one I left two empty rack spaces above it.
I see that there are a lot of pseudo-rack synths that need additional empty space above. That is a very idiotic solution...

User avatar
vicd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:26 am
Real name: Victor
Gear: Blofeld, Formanta (EMS01, Maestro, Mini), Fusion 8HD, JD800, Morpheus, MP7, Plugiator, TG77, TOM1501, TR626, UltraProteus, V-Synth XT
Band: ROBOPOP
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: Korg Radias in rack

Post by vicd » Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:32 pm

Is there maybe anything like a generic "tiltable" rack adapter that would allow rotating the unit? I mean the kind of those native rack ears that come with the V-synth XT.

I don't like the drums, but the drums like me!

Post Reply