Page 1 of 1

esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:25 pm
by uHu
Trying to make an old metal Ensoniq ESQ1 work again, after being stored for 20 years. Since the battery was empty, all the different sounds were gone - That's what happens on OS version 2.0, I've learnt. So I got hold of eproms with OS 3.5, since that would also restore the 40 original sounds. After changing battery and eproms, the esq1 does not boot up. Nothing works. I put back the old eproms, and it's back to the one default sound in all positions. So the thingy works, but the new eproms don't.
So, the question I have for those with knowledge is: Is there a compatibility problem with the early version (metal) esq1 and the OS 3.5? Or is it likely to be a problem with the eproms I got?

Re: esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:36 pm
by Rasputin
Do you have an EPROM reader/programmer to calculate the checksum of the exact chips you have?

Re: esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 5:12 pm
by uHu
No, it is 35 years since I worked with those. I got the proms ready made from italy. I'm now sending them back for double checking them.
As the older metal version and the newer plastic version are quite differently built, I thought that there might be some difference that made the newest OS incompatible. But even if the layout is different, they can still be made with the same components and the same schematics.

Re: esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:25 pm
by Rasputin
uHu wrote:I got the proms ready made from italy. I'm now sending them back for double checking them.


Aside from being burned correctly (or not), it's also possible that they are labelled incorrectly such as the high and low are switched. If so, this would 100% cause the ESQ1 to freeze at boot.

Re: esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:30 am
by Baus
I have a metal case ESQ-1 with Version 3.5 so that is not the problem.

Robin.

Re: esq1 os compatibility

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:54 pm
by meatballfulton
Yes, 3.5 ROMs should work in any ESQ-1. Sounds like bad ROMs to me.