ETI 4600 (Maplin 4600) Redesign to use modern chips.

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Mark

ETI 4600 (Maplin 4600) Redesign to use modern chips.

Post by Mark » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:35 pm

I am a professional electronics engineer with considerable experience of the ETI - Maplin 4600 synthesiser. Back in 1974 a friend, with little electronics experience, endeavoured to build this 'beast of a synthesiser' and he soon ran into difficulties. I was called in to assist with the project resulting in my becoming very well acquainted with it. We eventually resolved all the problems and got it going well.

In those days I worked for Plessey at the prestigious Alan Clark Research Centre in the Northamptonshire countryside developing all manner of new technologies some 10 to 20 years ahead of their time. So the very first ETI 4600 VCO I managed to get going was fired up in Plessey's 'Bipolar Process 3' electronics lab.

Now, getting on for half a century later these rare, but very underrated synth's are still around in various conditions. Being almost retired, I decided to revisit this project in my own electronics lab and re create some of the modules. This is not straightforward because many of the components and especially key microchips are now obsolete. So I decided to redesign areas of the original circuitry to enable me to use modern devices.

So far I have redesigned elements of the VCO's and have a core circuit up and running without the need for the now obsolete 4416AE chip. The various waveform shaping circuits still have to be built but should present no problems. I have also redesigned elements of the White/Pink Noise Generator and Controller module and have a fully functional completed module. I will probably tackle the VCA modules next. I can see there will be clear problems with both patch board and the keyboard but I also believe modern solutions can be found.