Connecting an analog sensor to an eurorack synth

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
kaka
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:31 am

Connecting an analog sensor to an eurorack synth

Post by kaka » Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:33 am

Hello everyone,

Is it easy to connect a standard resistive (passive) physical analog sensor to an Eurorack synth?

One needs to power the sensor and most Eurorack systems do provide a +5V rail, but is it easy to access this rail from the outside? Also, are there some impedance questions to consider?

I am mostly thinking about a position and/or pressure ribbon.

Thank you in advance.

Janis 1279
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:40 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Connecting an analog sensor to an eurorack synth

Post by Janis 1279 » Mon May 20, 2019 11:16 pm

Hi,
You need a some Ribbon controller for connecting from a soft pot or a pressure ribbon, I think.
As possible example for it : https://www.gearnews.com/ribbon-control ... ynthrotek/ .

There are a lot of DiY ribbon controllers schematics on the net, too. From Ian Fritz, from the Electronic peasant site
Regards,
Janis

Post Reply