Maschine - should I switch?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
mitya33

Maschine - should I switch?

Post by mitya33 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:16 pm

Hi guys

I got into the world of syntehsis and music-making last year by taking the plunge and buying the amazing MODX8. I did this because it was a compromise between a decent piano (I'm primarily a classical pianist, but with a massive interest in electronic music) and a synth, and since I needed a new piano, it was a good compromise purchase that covered both bases.

Since then, I've learned a lot, and I'm also looking at other workflows. And so it's entered my head that perhaps I should have gone for Maschine (or similar) and a dedicated electric piano (with a better key action than the GHS on the MODX8, which is passable but not something you'd ever choose for dedicated piano-playing.)

Fun as the MODX is to play, it's particularly irksome that it doesn't have a step sequencer, MIDI editor or wave editor, all of which Maschine does (if I'm right?). Playing in drum parts on keys, even though I can quantise for errors, just isn't as efficient as tapping them in with a step sequencer. Nor does it have a looper - you'd have to set up and assign an arpeggio. None of these are criticisms per se since I'm not nearly informed enough to level them; I'm just talking subjectively, and from still very much a noob standpoint.

With this in mind, I have several questions, specifically relating to the Maschine MK3.

- When you buy the hardware box, do you get the software with it? Or do you buy that separately? I can't seem to answer that question however much I look round NI's website... I didn't even twig until quite late on, after watching the Maschine intro vids, that you need software at all. The video literally had a dude just using and talking about the box!