Some newbie questions

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
BigPapaBear
Gear: Korg Minilogue XD
Elektron Model Samples
Arturia Keystep
Yamaha CLP-545

Some newbie questions

Post by BigPapaBear » Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:02 am

Hi all!

I am an experienced musician, but I am quite new to the world on synths and analog synthesis. I was hoping that you could help me with a few newbie questions, that hopefully aren’t too stupid.

1. If I have a controller with both USB and standard midi ports, can I use both simultaneously or does one output cut the other?

2. If I have a CV out that is 10V and I patch it to a CV in that wants 5V will I fry the receiving end, or is it harmless? Will it cause any other problems?

3. Can “the average sequencer” handle odd time signatures? I.e. if I want a pattern in 7/8 or something like that. Most videos online always use all 16 steps.

4. Most sequencer videos I’ve looked at online seem to be very “rigid” – only playing one type of notes (1/4, 1/8 etc) at a time. Is there a way to use a sequencer that mixes different note lengths? Would this affect the number of steps available? I.e. would it require that every step is 1/16 notes and that I have to use 4 steps to create a 1/4 note?

5. Do you have any tips for a controller with full size keys and a sequencer that can handle 64+ steps (preferably that can also handle odd time signatures)? Or a sequencer without keys, that I can enter data into by playing on another keyboard.

Thank you in advance.

ItsMeOnly

Re: Some newbie questions

Post by ItsMeOnly » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:37 pm

BigPapaBear wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:02 am
1. If I have a controller with both USB and standard midi ports, can I use both simultaneously or does one output cut the other?
That solely depends on controller (you haven't told us what you have).