Hardware Odyssey (Korg /Behringer) or software Odyssei? (Korg /Gforce)

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
80snostalgia

Hardware Odyssey (Korg /Behringer) or software Odyssei? (Korg /Gforce)

Post by 80snostalgia » Sun May 17, 2020 10:56 am

I'm a newbie to Synths and software and it's hard to know what I want, as an example, the Hardware Odysseys look great the Behringer and Korg, then you get all the software versions, Gforce and Korg. Gforce has instant access to "Ultravox sounds" (which is what I want) But then I have to get a controller keyboard. I'm a one for enjoying recording to my Zoom R8 so I'd have to find a controller that can take inputs from other hardware. I don't do software recording anymore.

Forgive me if I sound confused, but it is a sweet shop out there, and in my case would it be best to get software or hardware Odysseys for what I want to do in 'studio'?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Broadwave
Gear: Kronos 2-88, Fantom 6, System 8, MODX6, Behringer Odyssey, BroadWAVE ARP 2600EX, BroadWAVE Modular, BroadWAVE Sparta, BroadWAVE Minimoog.

Re: Hardware Odyssey (Korg /Behringer) or software Odyssei? (Korg /Gforce)

Post by Broadwave » Fri May 22, 2020 11:37 am

You really can't go wrong with the Behringer - It's a perfect Oddy Clone and great for those Billy Curry leads - Don't forget that square wave with sync *and* ring mod is the starting point for that classic solo sound, along with a touch of analogue flanging.

The Korg Mini version has a few problems - Pulse Width on both VCOs narrow with frequency (!!) and there's a major fault with LFO retrigger of the ADSR envelope, as it only retiggers correctly 50% of the time.

80snostalgia

Post by 80snostalgia » Fri May 22, 2020 7:06 pm

Broadwave wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 11:37 am