Good synth for 80's cover band

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
EnderWare

Good synth for 80's cover band

Post by EnderWare » Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:31 am

First of all, hello forum.

I'm a guitarist first but a long time keys player and I just joined an 80's cover band as a guitarist but they have no keyboardist. I've decided to do dual-duty and I would like to get a versatile all-around synth (modern digital) that can do a decent job replicating the synths sounds of the 80's. The synths I have are either VST/midi controller or retro and won't work for this.

I just want something not too big, maybe even less then 61 keys, as long as it has an octave switch, that I can have at the side of the stage. Something hopefully not too expensive maybe even a common synth on the used market (I live near LA so used market is good).

I know this is a vintage and analog place mostly but I'm sure someone knows some good options for a digital synth that covers a broad spectrum of those 80's sounds as well as others.

And I do happen to be a vintage synth nut, grew up with synth albums my dad would buy when I was a kid. So here is a synth-identification question for the forum: opening notes/intro to "Waiting For A Girl Like You" Foreigner played by Thomas Dolby?

Thanks in advance,

Eric

Ashe37
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: Good synth for 80's cover band

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:36 am

If you really want a hardware synth I'd suggest a used Alesis Ion.

Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Post by Z » Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:08 pm

EnderWare wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:31 am
So here is a synth-identification question for the forum: opening notes/intro to "Waiting For A Girl Like You" Foreigner played by Thomas Dolby?