3-tier keyboard stand - longer than 48 inches in length

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
MrFrodo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:29 pm
Real name: Eric
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

3-tier keyboard stand - longer than 48 inches in length

Post by MrFrodo » Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:02 pm

Hello out there.

I'm interested in finding a keyboard rack system like the one in this link. But, I'd like it to be longer than 48 inches, so it can at least sit on top of a Fender Rhodes, or a CP70. Is there such a thing in the universe? I know that the 2-tier stands do it, but I'd like a 3-tier stand.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/ ... sku=452069
The greatest thing we ever have is the will to survive.

Rest in peace, Dr. Robert Moog.

http://www.ericbenjamingordon.com
http://cdbaby.com/cd/ebgordon
http://www.myspace.com/ericbenjamingordon

User avatar
WDW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:46 am
Real name: WD
Location: Neverwhere

Post by WDW » Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:05 pm

Quiklok Z502 stand [53 inches interior width] with an extra ZM55 crossbar and ZM97 or ZM97L arms.

Cheers.

WD

dougt
No Longer Registered

Post by dougt » Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:35 pm

I have Ultimate Support A-Frames that are 60 inches. I think they came as 3-tiers. I have 4 on mine...

User avatar
brian.only
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:37 am
Gear: Mono/Poly, Polysix, Crumar Performer, Juno106, Ion, CS01, K Station, DX27,77' Rhodes 88 mk1
Location: SF bay
Contact:

Post by brian.only » Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:32 am

dougt wrote:I have Ultimate Support A-Frames that are 60 inches. I think they came as 3-tiers. I have 4 on mine...
+1
Super light and I have @ least 200-300lbs on mine!
I just wish i could find spare hardware for it...
sell me your KS5!

dougt
No Longer Registered

Post by dougt » Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:18 am

I have a lot on mine too! :) They are very strudy. I've even seen people put 4 more tiers on the back supports...

Image

User avatar
Analog Freak
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:29 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Analog Freak » Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:03 am

Wow, you have a really nice collection going there. And it looks so neat and organized too. Where are all the MIDI or CV cables, power leads and audio cables?
"All Your Synthesizers Are Belong To Us!" Literally.

dougt
No Longer Registered

Post by dougt » Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:10 am

I took that pict right after moving in and setting up my stands... I don't have everything plugged in all the time but I have several CV and audio cables I patch in as needed... That box in the lower right is actually a JL Cooper 8 channel MIDI-CV and I also have Kenton Pro-2000 w/DCB and Pro-Solo coverters...

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Post by waveterm » Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:49 pm

+1 on the USS Apache Stands. If you´re in Europe you can look at the Jasper stands.

Here´s mine :

Image

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

User avatar
Theory?
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 3:50 pm

Post by Theory? » Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:35 pm

Dear Waveterm,

Please stop posting pictures of your setup, I only have so many pairs of pants.

Love,
Theory?
Image
Inverted Insights: Another blog about absolutely nothing

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Post by waveterm » Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:16 pm

I´ve got a washing machine and a dryer.....stop on by and I´ll do your laundry !

:)

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

MrFrodo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:29 pm
Real name: Eric
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by MrFrodo » Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:24 am

To Waveterm and dougt,

I definitely know the value of the synths you both own, but I can't begin to fathom either of your rigs.

I'd take a leaf out of either of your books, when it comes to your stands. But, I'm willing to settle for 3 tiers. Just like to know where to get the additional parts for a 2-tier 60-inch stand by Ultimate.
The greatest thing we ever have is the will to survive.

Rest in peace, Dr. Robert Moog.

http://www.ericbenjamingordon.com
http://cdbaby.com/cd/ebgordon
http://www.myspace.com/ericbenjamingordon

User avatar
brian.only
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:37 am
Gear: Mono/Poly, Polysix, Crumar Performer, Juno106, Ion, CS01, K Station, DX27,77' Rhodes 88 mk1
Location: SF bay
Contact:

Post by brian.only » Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:16 am

God I think it would take me about 12 hours to walk 12 ft in dougts or waveterms studios!
Nice set-ups!
sell me your KS5!

MrFrodo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:29 pm
Real name: Eric
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by MrFrodo » Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:28 pm

Another note to Waveterm: as your name would suggest, you appear to own plenty of PPG gear. Tell us a litle about the PRK keyboard. Is it really meant for anymore than a weird electronic piano keyboard? I bet you'd know more about it than I would.
The greatest thing we ever have is the will to survive.

Rest in peace, Dr. Robert Moog.

http://www.ericbenjamingordon.com
http://cdbaby.com/cd/ebgordon
http://www.myspace.com/ericbenjamingordon

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Post by waveterm » Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:42 pm

The PRK came in two versions, PRK and PRK FD.

They were meant to be masterkeyboards for a PPG system. They have a good piano-action ( although a bit heavy for my taste ) with real wooden keys.

The PRK could be ordered with internal samples on "voicecards". However the PRK produces no sound of its own. You download the samples to a Wave 2.2/2.3 or EVU from the PRK. Up to 7 cards can be installed in a PRK ( good luck finding any !! ).

The PRK FD however, is the more usefull one. It has Midi with 4 outputs allowing you to setup pretty intricate splits etc... The downside is that it only has a 2 segment LED display and a very confusing operating system.

The PRK FD has a 5 1/4" discdrive to store all your Midi parameters. But, using the discdrive you can load Waveterm B data and transfer them to a Wave/EVU. This means that you have access to all the PPG library and any user-made samples/sounds. You can also load Wave 2.2/2.3 soundsets ( synthesizerprograms ) and download them to the Wave.

The PRK FD is the one to have. It becomes a backup to the Waveterm B if it should break.

It also has a very strange interactive arpeggiator which I´ve never bothered to explore......

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

dougt
No Longer Registered

Post by dougt » Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:54 pm

Do you know where I could find the Waveterm B OS on an 8" floppy?

Post Reply