Page 1 of 2

3-tier keyboard stand - longer than 48 inches in length

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:02 pm
by MrFrodo
Hello out there.

I'm interested in finding a keyboard rack system like the one in this link. But, I'd like it to be longer than 48 inches, so it can at least sit on top of a Fender Rhodes, or a CP70. Is there such a thing in the universe? I know that the 2-tier stands do it, but I'd like a 3-tier stand.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/ ... sku=452069

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:05 pm
by WDW
Quiklok Z502 stand [53 inches interior width] with an extra ZM55 crossbar and ZM97 or ZM97L arms.

Cheers.

WD

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:35 pm
by dougt
I have Ultimate Support A-Frames that are 60 inches. I think they came as 3-tiers. I have 4 on mine...

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:32 am
by brian.only
dougt wrote:I have Ultimate Support A-Frames that are 60 inches. I think they came as 3-tiers. I have 4 on mine...
+1
Super light and I have @ least 200-300lbs on mine!
I just wish i could find spare hardware for it...

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:18 am
by dougt
I have a lot on mine too! :) They are very strudy. I've even seen people put 4 more tiers on the back supports...

Image

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:03 am
by Analog Freak
Wow, you have a really nice collection going there. And it looks so neat and organized too. Where are all the MIDI or CV cables, power leads and audio cables?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:10 am
by dougt
I took that pict right after moving in and setting up my stands... I don't have everything plugged in all the time but I have several CV and audio cables I patch in as needed... That box in the lower right is actually a JL Cooper 8 channel MIDI-CV and I also have Kenton Pro-2000 w/DCB and Pro-Solo coverters...

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:49 pm
by waveterm
+1 on the USS Apache Stands. If you´re in Europe you can look at the Jasper stands.

Here´s mine :

Image

WT

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:35 pm
by Theory?
Dear Waveterm,

Please stop posting pictures of your setup, I only have so many pairs of pants.

Love,
Theory?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:16 pm
by waveterm
I´ve got a washing machine and a dryer.....stop on by and I´ll do your laundry !

:)

WT

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:24 am
by MrFrodo
To Waveterm and dougt,

I definitely know the value of the synths you both own, but I can't begin to fathom either of your rigs.

I'd take a leaf out of either of your books, when it comes to your stands. But, I'm willing to settle for 3 tiers. Just like to know where to get the additional parts for a 2-tier 60-inch stand by Ultimate.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:16 am
by brian.only
God I think it would take me about 12 hours to walk 12 ft in dougts or waveterms studios!
Nice set-ups!

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:28 pm
by MrFrodo
Another note to Waveterm: as your name would suggest, you appear to own plenty of PPG gear. Tell us a litle about the PRK keyboard. Is it really meant for anymore than a weird electronic piano keyboard? I bet you'd know more about it than I would.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:42 pm
by waveterm
The PRK came in two versions, PRK and PRK FD.

They were meant to be masterkeyboards for a PPG system. They have a good piano-action ( although a bit heavy for my taste ) with real wooden keys.

The PRK could be ordered with internal samples on "voicecards". However the PRK produces no sound of its own. You download the samples to a Wave 2.2/2.3 or EVU from the PRK. Up to 7 cards can be installed in a PRK ( good luck finding any !! ).

The PRK FD however, is the more usefull one. It has Midi with 4 outputs allowing you to setup pretty intricate splits etc... The downside is that it only has a 2 segment LED display and a very confusing operating system.

The PRK FD has a 5 1/4" discdrive to store all your Midi parameters. But, using the discdrive you can load Waveterm B data and transfer them to a Wave/EVU. This means that you have access to all the PPG library and any user-made samples/sounds. You can also load Wave 2.2/2.3 soundsets ( synthesizerprograms ) and download them to the Wave.

The PRK FD is the one to have. It becomes a backup to the Waveterm B if it should break.

It also has a very strange interactive arpeggiator which I´ve never bothered to explore......

WT

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:54 pm
by dougt
Do you know where I could find the Waveterm B OS on an 8" floppy?