Okay Doepfer fans...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
modulator_esp
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:04 pm
Real name: Jez
Gear: some synths, samplers, effects, sequencers and loopers :-)
Band: Modulator ESP
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by modulator_esp » Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:32 pm

audible wrote: In fact I'm planning to sell it because I bought a G2 recently and I think I'll be able to replicate most of the MAQ features on it.
You should try sequencing note quantised G2 voices with the MAQ, I use mine to great effect with my NM1 :)
mostly enjoying adventures in sound :)

droolmaster0
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:09 am

Post by droolmaster0 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:00 am

audible wrote:
droolmaster0 wrote: I don't recall the maq as having cross track modulation at all.
The Ad1 setting on row 2/3 allows values entered in this row to be added to those in row one. It's simple and effective but this is as far as the Maq goes in cross-modulation, I think.
Ok - good to know! I'd be tempted by one (my view is that you can never have too many sequencers...), but the price is way too high on them. A used one at some point might be an option.

cl516
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 7:57 pm
Real name: Calvin
Location: toronto
Contact:

Post by cl516 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:15 am

thanks for the posts to my questions guys -

turns out there's a used one locally here in toronto i could pick up (MAQ)!

if this MAQ is an older operating system, what features are missing?
is the latest OS updatable without sending it in?

i'll try to look this up on Doepfer site now...

audible
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:56 pm

Post by audible » Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:49 am

cl516 wrote: if this MAQ is an older operating system, what features are missing?
is the latest OS updatable without sending it in?
You have to replace a card to update to 3.0 afaik. It doesn't sound very hard to do - no soldering required, but you'll have to drill holes for the CV/Gate outs if the metal case is an old one (they only had 1 CV/gate out). And what you get is pretty worthwhile: more presets, every step value is remembered, external midi control, and the possibility of getting rid of the master clock and trigger every sequence or step manually.
"The concern of the musician is music. The concern of the professional musician is business. Only become a professional musician if there is no choice." Robert Fripp.

cl516
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 7:57 pm
Real name: Calvin
Location: toronto
Contact:

Post by cl516 » Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:48 am

picked up an MAQ here locally,
not that impressed actually. (at least for the way i wanna use it.)
yes single step mode is wonderful, but the knobs are very touchy and difficult to set correct pitch.
a slower process than i expected.

forward/backward/pendulum etc. is very awesome, as is the different first/last steps.

not sure if it's a keeper.

Post Reply