Roland TR-808 sync issues. Please Help...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
Eddington
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Roland TR-808 sync issues. Please Help...

Post by Eddington » Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:58 am

I have a wonderful 808 that is having sync issues and I have tried multiple times to get it fixed but it seems that everyone is stumped by the problem and is unable to fix it.

Here is the issue:
-808 syncs just fine with other din sync devices such as the MC-202, 303, or 606
-808 does not sync at all with the future retro mobius and the tempo jumps sporadically
-the mobius syncs gloriously with my other XOX devices

I thought a work-around for this issue would be to sync my 202 to the Mobuis and then from the 202 to the 808 but what wound up happening was that the 202 synced just fine to the mobius but the 808 was still totally outta whack and would not sync.

What's the deal?

A number of techs. in the area have not been able to fix this problem or have gotten frustrated and given up.

If anyone knows a solution please let me know.

Any ideas will help.

Thanks.

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Post by nathanscribe » Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:19 am

This belongs in "HELP", not general.

Anyway, if numerous techs have tried and failed, it's either something blindingly simple or fiendishly complex. Have you tried making a simple Sync splitter cable? Set both receiving boxes to slave mode, wire up a cable or splitter box that simply runs two outputs from one input, and try syncing then.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3546
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Post by Z » Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:54 pm

Get a Roland SBX-10 or Korg KMX-30. Someone on eBay sells a box with several MIDI and DIN Sync connectors.

Z

User avatar
haricots
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:23 pm
Gear: 5U modular, Tetra MAPS, MD UW, XS, 777, Pro One, JX-3P, Wavestation, Pulse+, Drumstation, S-760
Location: Guelph
Contact:

aaa

Post by haricots » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:11 pm

On the 808 are you setting the sync to Input or Output?

Eddington
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Eddington » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:28 pm

Sorry 'bout posting this in the wrong forum. I tried uploading this topic in "help" but for whatever reason I was unable to and being that I am a newbie I wasn't sure if the help was still up, so I posted it here. I will post this topic in the "Help" section.

User avatar
haricots
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:23 pm
Gear: 5U modular, Tetra MAPS, MD UW, XS, 777, Pro One, JX-3P, Wavestation, Pulse+, Drumstation, S-760
Location: Guelph
Contact:

aaa

Post by haricots » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:42 pm

don't worry about it, one of the mods can move this topic.

prophei
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by prophei » Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:06 pm

funny thing, i have noticed that 50% of the time, my mobius also has issues syncing properly with my tr808. it often sends in doubletime. i haven't been able to figure it out either. i also do not see this issue with other devices!


* meaning... i don't think it is your tr808.
andromeda > polyevolver keyboard > ms-20 > oberheim two voice > arp 2600 > minimoog > custom modular system > polivoks > roland SVC-350 > jomox mbase01 > sh2 > acidlab > tr-808 > drumtrax > korg dvp-1 > protools hd3 > mac dual 2.0 G5

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3546
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Post by Z » Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:48 pm

I don't know wanything about the Moebius, but Roland's DIN sync is 24 ppq and Korg's is 48 ppq. Is there a way to adjust the ppq output of the Moebius?

Z

Eddington
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by Eddington » Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:27 pm

Hey everybody, I posted this in the "help" section of this forum where I will post my next reply ; )
Thanks!
Eddington

Post Reply