Page 1 of 1

Roland SH2 Overdrive

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:18 am
by Andy_X69
I noticed a while ago that my Roland SH2 has very cool output (i.e. very quiet). I can help that by increasing the volume but I am concerned that may overdrive the signal. But I was wondering, does the fact the output is quiet mean that I wont overdrive the signal if I increase the synths volume to maximum?

1) Can the SH2 be internally overdriven if its master volume or mixer volumes are at max?
2) If so how can I avoid this overdrive? When does it start overdriving?

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:11 am
by tallowwaters
i would think a bass bad a*s like the SH2 would sound magnificient through a warm preamp and a compressor.

of course, i dont own an SH-2 but one member especially loves his...

Re: Roland SH2 Overdrive

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:32 am
by piRoN
Andy_X69 wrote:I noticed a while ago that my Roland SH2 has very cool output (i.e. very quiet). I can help that by increasing the volume but I am concerned that may overdrive the signal. But I was wondering, does the fact the output is quiet mean that I wont overdrive the signal if I increase the synths volume to maximum?

1) Can the SH2 be internally overdriven if its master volume or mixer volumes are at max?
2) If so how can I avoid this overdrive? When does it start overdriving?
I'm a little perplexed as to why you're asking. Can't you just turn the volume knob up and hear for yourself?

Re: Roland SH2 Overdrive

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:40 am
by Andy_X69
piRoN wrote: I'm a little perplexed as to why you're asking. Can't you just turn the volume knob up and hear for yourself?
Well, analog overdrive tends to be subtle. I just want to know if there is some conensus on how loud I can make the synth's volume before it starts overdriving (i.e. the A6 will overdrive if the combined mixer levels are greater than 100, where does the SH2 start?).

Re: Roland SH2 Overdrive

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:12 pm
by Dirk
Andy_X69 wrote:
piRoN wrote: I'm a little perplexed as to why you're asking. Can't you just turn the volume knob up and hear for yourself?
Well, analog overdrive tends to be subtle. I just want to know if there is some conensus on how loud I can make the synth's volume before it starts overdriving (i.e. the A6 will overdrive if the combined mixer levels are greater than 100, where does the SH2 start?).
The mixer level problem that the A6 has does not apply to other synths.

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:23 pm
by Twiddler
my sh2 never overdrove, but maybe it did when I sold it.


Great synth. Mine didn't have a 'cool' output...

I don't really get what you're after either, but I'd say go for it, try whatever! If it sounds like s**t, you learned some!

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:36 pm
by micahjonhughes
If you are getting low output, maybe something is not working correctly with the synth.

You wont hurt the synth even if it overdrives. My guess is that Roland engineers would not have let much distortion creep in at and volume setting, so turn it up.

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:43 pm
by hollandturbine
Just had a play and I have no problem with my SH-2 internally overdriving signals. I had the master volume and the VCO audio mixer up max.

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:30 pm
by aeon
Since the SH-2 has a sine wave in the VCO section and a drone mode for the VCA, it becomes easy to test.

Test the level with a meter and calibrate your A/Ds to it. Sample the raw sinus output and adjust the knobs, looking for added harmonic content.

This synth makes it easy to find.

I think that added second and third harmonic on low basses is part of the magic growl this synth has.


cheers,
Ian

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:55 pm
by clusterchord
i find the original question sorta pointless. as if u r playing it with your ears turned off. u can hear for yourself all that you ask... or am i missing something?

anyways, SH-2 does not outright overdrive, in a classic (dirty) sense of the word. however it sounds best with volume knob cranked up to the max, yes there's saturation and increased thickness (nonlinear range) happening somewhere along the audio path esp when using sub osc n vco to the max, but that is SH-2 sound character. no inharmonic dirt. just one fat mofo bass synth.



however, if you really have an unusually low output on your unit, then you might need repair. as already stated, forget about A6 mixer levels, that issue does not relate to SH-2.


@tallowaters: amazingly enough, this one, when recording bass, really doesn't need a compressor, it sounds inyourface from the get go. if u check the recording, u can see the waveform being suprisingly even. i definetely needed a comp to get such signal shape on some other boards (incl roalnds like MKLS70/80), and it didnt sound near as good.

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:57 pm
by Andy_X69
Ok thanks guys. Have maxed SH2 volume, no problems I cant fix without boosting input level.

Damn the SH2 is fun :)

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:39 pm
by cl516
i love my SH-2!
the output on mine is pretty hot.

i need a midi/cv converter to sequence this baby

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:07 pm
by aeon
clusterchord wrote:amazingly enough, this one, when recording bass, really doesn't need a compressor, it sounds inyourface from the get go. if u check the recording, u can see the waveform being suprisingly even. i definetely needed a comp to get such signal shape on some other boards (incl roalnds like MKLS70/80), and it didnt sound near as good.
+1, this is very true. The env shape is just right. Every other synth I have, even the best of them, need a little compression to make the bass right.

Not the Roland SH-2! :D


cheers,
Ian