Used Nord Lead 2 or new Roland SH201?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Used Nord Lead 2 or new Roland SH201?

Postby FriscoJohn » Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:39 pm

I'm a gutarist/bassplayer/sometime drummer who's getting interested in syhths. I can get either a used Nord Lead or Nord Lead 2 or a new SH201 for about the same money.

My main goal is to learn about synthesis, particularly analog modeling, for fun, and perhaps eventually performance use and recording.

I don't want to get into guitar synths at this time--keyboards is the way I want to go for now.

Any feedback greatly appreciate on the pros and cons of the above 2. I've also considered some older rolands, but don't want to deal with having to fix things, and don't think I'm qualified to thourougly test something old before I buy...
FriscoJohn
No Longer Registered

Postby ronP » Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:23 pm

The face of the ROLAND SH-201 is clear, direct, and self-explanatory, not unlike the classic analog synths of the early 1980s (like the Juno 60 or KORG Polysix). The machine is a VA, like the Nord, but its knob-per-function control is simple, intuitive, and I believe better suited for a player with the background you describe.

Give it a try . . . you'll either go back to the strings, or become a dedicated tweakhead -- a win-win scenario imho . . .

:)

BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO Casiotone MT-70; KORG Electribe EA-1mkII, microKORG, mini-KP; QUIKLOK T20 T-REX Series X;
ROLAND Micro-CUBE; YAMAHA PSS130, PSS140; ZOOM FS-01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B

Wanted: BOSS DR-110; CASIO CZ-101; YAMAHA CS-01, DX-100
ronP

Gear: BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO MT-70; KORG EA-1 mkII, MicroKorg, microSTATION, MicroX, Mini-KP, Monotron; ROLAND Micro Cube; ZOOM FS01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B
Band: Keyfish

Postby elmosexwhistle » Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:52 pm