matrix 6R

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

matrix 6R

Post by prince fan 2 » Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:48 pm

i have a matrix 1000..but i am a frustrated user, due to its limitations

and certain sounds i want to achieve..ie the warbbling brass tones

of the band (the time).

i am wondering if taking a chance on the matrix 6R will help..

but what i dont want to buy is just the same old matrix 1000 unit with

editing capabilities.

i belive reading reviews that its a matrix 6 keyboard.is where the sounds come from..

whats your take on things.thanks.

User avatar
micahjonhughes
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by micahjonhughes » Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:08 pm

My understanding is that the matrix 6 and 1000 are the same except for the interface.

I always had difficulty programming the matrix 6r, too many options. But, when it worked out it had a great sound.

Can you not download the patches you desire? There are many sources for Matrix 6 and 1000 patches.

prophei
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by prophei » Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:14 pm

there are lots of free on-screen editors for mac and pc that make editing the 6 or 1000 easy... have you tried these?
andromeda > polyevolver keyboard > ms-20 > oberheim two voice > arp 2600 > minimoog > custom modular system > polivoks > roland SVC-350 > jomox mbase01 > sh2 > acidlab > tr-808 > drumtrax > korg dvp-1 > protools hd3 > mac dual 2.0 G5

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:28 pm

afaik, beyond some features like splits, they have identical voice stuctures

soundsubs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:18 am
Location: denver
Contact:

Post by soundsubs » Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:05 pm

someone mentioned a few days ago that when editing the 1000's env2 via sysex, it causes it to freeze?

i wonder if theres any difference between editing one via sysex over the other? can anyone say definitively?
doepfer modular, moog rme, cwejman s1 mk2, virus TI Polar, nord modular+G2, kurzweil K2500xs + RS, e-mu proteus 2000, alesis andromeda, dave smith prophet 08 rack, arp avatar, octave cat, emax, speck xtramix

User avatar
zmd
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:32 am
Gear: ion, djx, su200, fb01, sk50d, dotcom, kodyssey, volcas, minibrute, minilogue, tg33, 522, streichfett, monotrons, cp35
Band: Shrimp ring/usse/wrote/usurper
Location: saint john NB canada
Contact:

Re: matrix 6R

Post by zmd » Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:10 pm

prince fan 2 wrote:i have a matrix 1000..but i am a frustrated user, due to its limitations

and certain sounds i want to achieve..ie the warbbling brass tones

of the band (the time).

i am wondering if taking a chance on the matrix 6R will help..

but what i dont want to buy is just the same old matrix 1000 unit with

editing capabilities.

i belive reading reviews that its a matrix 6 keyboard.is where the sounds come from..

whats your take on things.thanks.
can a dedicated controller be used on a matrix 1000? like an axiom or whatever, and assign its knobs to edit the matrix?
that's not dirt, that's chili sauce!

User avatar
vanitypolice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:14 pm
Gear: XTk, Model D, Cat, MicroKorg, Voyager RME, RE-201, Logic 8, Waldorf Edition, Komplete Synths, Sylenth1, Ultra Analog VA-1, Ozone 4, red Gibson SG.
Band: Dangerous Muse
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by vanitypolice » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:05 am

Yes, I have a Peavey PC1600x which works well as a controller for the Matrix-1000.
I have found that when it comes to gear, believe the hype.

User avatar
zmd
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:32 am
Gear: ion, djx, su200, fb01, sk50d, dotcom, kodyssey, volcas, minibrute, minilogue, tg33, 522, streichfett, monotrons, cp35
Band: Shrimp ring/usse/wrote/usurper
Location: saint john NB canada
Contact:

Post by zmd » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:09 am

cool! now i want a matrix 1000 more than ever!
that's not dirt, that's chili sauce!

logicalhippo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:25 am
Location: New Hampshire USA
Contact:

Post by logicalhippo » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:14 am

Matrix 6r sounds *exactly* the same as a matrix 1000. I've heard both. Also, it has a slower processor than the creamy 1000's and gets more MIDI errors and freezes more often. But I still like it. :-D. If you want a better oberheim warble unfortunately you're going to have to go for the older OB's. :'(.

User avatar
vanitypolice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:14 pm
Gear: XTk, Model D, Cat, MicroKorg, Voyager RME, RE-201, Logic 8, Waldorf Edition, Komplete Synths, Sylenth1, Ultra Analog VA-1, Ozone 4, red Gibson SG.
Band: Dangerous Muse
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by vanitypolice » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:17 am

Yeah, I think all of us have Matrix-1000s because we're too cheap to spring for the older ones. I'll never part with mine though even if I get a "real" OB.
I have found that when it comes to gear, believe the hype.

User avatar
crystalmsc
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2861
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:15 am
Gear: uWaveXT,uQ,Pulse+;Ion;MiniBrt,Karma,Mntrb,Volcas,01R;Venom,NordModular,L2X;Evolver;JP8080,MKS70,JD990,D50,MC909,MC80ex,Microcon2;TG77,RS7k,AN200,AN1x
Band: Crystaline
Location: Synth Garden
Contact:

Post by crystalmsc » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:49 pm

you guys just make a PC1600x user gassing for those Obies :wink:
Kaossilatron - Voicillator
http://crystaline.bandcamp.com
Station: Ableton Live 10 Suite, Obscurium, Push 2, Ultranova, MS-20m, Wavedrums

User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Real name: Dave
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Contact:

Post by shaft9000 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:12 am

yeah, c'mon crystal! get an Obie for chrissake! :wink:

while you're at it get a SCI or DSi synth-too.
don't ya miss that brassy, sizzly oh-so-80's American CEM sound??
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies

soundsubs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:18 am
Location: denver
Contact:

Post by soundsubs » Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:54 pm

wait, are you saying that a m1000 is better for sysex editing than the 6r?

by "better" i mean less susceptable to lockups with data going to it.
doepfer modular, moog rme, cwejman s1 mk2, virus TI Polar, nord modular+G2, kurzweil K2500xs + RS, e-mu proteus 2000, alesis andromeda, dave smith prophet 08 rack, arp avatar, octave cat, emax, speck xtramix

User avatar
cbjlietuva
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:42 pm
Gear: Roland Juno 6 · Rhodes 73 Suitcase · Fender '63 jBass · Fender Strat+ · Casio SK1
Location: A Honda Civic down by the foothils

Post by cbjlietuva » Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:20 pm

As far as using an external controller to 'edit' patch data...

I have firsthand experience, and the 6R will freeze, and (on my model anyway) requires you to 'force-feed' patch data back into it.

I was using my SQ80 as a controller, and i mistakingly left it in keys/controllers/patchedit mode- i go to change something on the SQ80's patch, and the screen on my Matrix goes nuts- i flip it off and back on again, and the first patch has two saws and an open filter, and when you go to change the patch it ceases to make sound. The memory is scrambled, and I had to hook it up to my computer, run SysEx librarian and give it some patch data. Then it was completely normal.

As far as editing patches in real time with a controller, no way- unless you have an Oberheim device that would plug into the 'Remote' port on the front of the machine.

However- there are various functions, like pedal 1 pedal 2 wheel 1 etc.... anyway, those can be edited within the patch to adjust things like cutoff. anything on the "Destinations" frame printed on the top of the unit- I suspect if you have a MIDI controller like a radius or something that can learn, it's possible to use the on-board controllers to control those 'controllers' set within the patch... am I making sense :?
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...Star Wars on Laserdisc

User avatar
i_watch_stars
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Seattle

Post by i_watch_stars » Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:16 am

soundsubs wrote:wait, are you saying that a m1000 is better for sysex editing than the 6r?

by "better" i mean less susceptable to lockups with data going to it.
I'm the person who posted that about it freezing all the time. Yeah its really freezeriffic isn't it?

You can find a BRASS SOUND on the Matrix 1000!?!?!? Dude, like 1/2 of the presets are brass sounds! Thats the thing that really annoyed me about the Matrix 1000 is that for all those presets, its basically these things; generic PWM lead, generic PWM pad, brass, synbass (throw in the standard "flute" "oboe" patches too). I didn't set out to copy 80's popular music so the presets were useless to me. Ok rant over.

Yeah editing it is super annoying (possibly the most annoying of all my synths), but I've heard that the Matrix 6R's interface is a nightmare to edit on, so I would steer clear. You're best bet is instead of editing from scratch, find the closest preset (which shouldn't be hard) to your sound, then proceed from there with a software editor.

Oh yeah, and don't EVER touch the env modulations or the matrix will catch fire.

Post Reply