Bands that use Casiotones live?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Oct 04, 2007 11:14 pm

Ooh just remembered Naked on the Vague use a 401. Incredible band, we've played with them a few times. Check them out.

Image

User avatar
Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2353
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:41 am
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source
Location: DenverMetroUSA, Quantum-Source.com
Contact:

Post by Zamise » Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:13 am

Woooo, nothing hotter than a female on a synth, except maybe smallsynth or jexus making out with one :P

Little Fyodor

Image
<ZQS> [....<OII>.....soundcloud player v2.42.....................link]

User avatar
EmptySet
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:33 am
Gear: MS20, x0xb0x, JV-1080, JX-3P, JX-8P(PG800), Juno Stage, VFX-SD, VL-1, ARP Omni I, D-50, DW6000
Location: Illinois, USA

Post by EmptySet » Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:28 am

Possibly Hyperbubble.[/url]

SubliminalEffect
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:07 am

Post by SubliminalEffect » Sat Oct 06, 2007 8:40 am

surprisingly, Jon Hassell's band with Michael Brook and J.A. Deane at their performance in Toronto back in 1983. Deane was the percussionist but for one of the pieces, he plucked away at a custom modded VL-Tone (according to what he told me after the show).

User avatar
Tyler2000
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:31 am
Gear: HS-60, MG-1, CS-5, ESQ-1, CZ-101, DR-110, MR-10, MDP-40, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Trixer, SDS-9, Califorian 365, toys, guitars, ukes, etc.
Location: Huntsville, AL

Post by Tyler2000 » Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:17 am

EmptySet wrote:Possibly Hyperbubble.[/url]
It took some digging around on their obnoxiously-designed website, but yeah I confirmed it. I was thinking they did. It's some odd one with the outputs on the side. It looks like a yamaha MK, but clearly says casio.
so what do I put down here now?

analogue wings
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:25 am
Contact:

Post by analogue wings » Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:41 am

My band, DEAN have used a CasioTone MT35 since we started in 1994. The "rock" preset is the drum beat on every song we have ever recorded.
Oberheim Matrix 1000 * Roland MKS50 * Roland MKS7 * Korg Poly61 * Casio CZ3000 * MAM Warp 9 * MAM VF 11 * Yamaha TX81Z * JoMoX AirBase 99 * Roland TR606 * Yamaha QY70

ronmcdonald
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: LDN

Post by ronmcdonald » Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:00 pm


MitchK1989
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Nova Scotia

Post by MitchK1989 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:41 pm

King Julien wrote:Hot chip use a casio MT-70 I think. Not 100% sure whether it makes it to live shows, though.
It does.

kurtjimi27
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 9:44 am

Post by kurtjimi27 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:05 am

I saw these crazy guys at a weird show in LA.
They have one of those small casio tones with the dadada beat.



I think the other band that night, Dorsal Fin, used a larger casio and only used the orchestra hit sound.

metal + casio=fun
Waldorf Microwave XT, Roland VP-9000, EMU Emax, G5 (Reason, Live, etc.), Power Mac 9600 w/ protools tdm, Zoom H4

inasilentway
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Cambridge, MA

Post by inasilentway » Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:37 am

I saw Sunset Rubdown (solo project of Spencer from Wolf Parade) last night and though I didn't see clearly, I'm pretty sure from the sound that one of the members had an SK-1. I heard the very familiar flute and piano sounds from it.

User avatar
alpha5000dk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:26 pm
Gear: Clavia|NordRack2X
Korg|TritonLe
MFB|FilterBox
Waldorf| Rocket
National|SX-3800a
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by alpha5000dk » Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:31 am

This page says Spinal Tap used a CT-202 for live performances http://www.sonicstate.com/synth/casio_ct-202.cfm

It also says Elvis Costello and BBC used one 8)

User avatar
redfurniture
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:43 pm
Gear: Yamaha CS10, Teisco 60F, Siel DK80, Roland JX3P, Oberheim Strech DX, Yamaha RX15, Farfisa Foyer.
Location: bästkusten

Post by redfurniture » Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:05 am

love is all uses a casio MT68 sometimes.

User avatar
alpha5000dk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:26 pm
Gear: Clavia|NordRack2X
Korg|TritonLe
MFB|FilterBox
Waldorf| Rocket
National|SX-3800a
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by alpha5000dk » Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:44 pm

What about Trio?
Did they ever use the VL-Tone live?
Anybody...

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:43 pm

oops, forgot the most awesome Lakes.

Image

User avatar
alpha5000dk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:26 pm
Gear: Clavia|NordRack2X
Korg|TritonLe
MFB|FilterBox
Waldorf| Rocket
National|SX-3800a
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by alpha5000dk » Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:30 pm

Don't know if the mentioned artists at the bottom used it live. One can hope 8)

http://www.synthmuseum.com/casio/cas10101.html

Post Reply