Modular Moog

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
badhatharry

Modular Moog

Post by badhatharry » Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:41 am

Hi. First time listener and caller. I joined this forum because I discovered my work had a modular moog sitting uncovered in storage. I talked my boss into letting me get that thing up and running. Today my co-worker (Jacob) and I (Drew) pulled the thing out of storage, ran an air compressor through it, set it up in an empty office, and got it up and running with no maintenance. The pots and switches are all pretty dirty, and will need to be hit with some contact cleaner, but I was able to get the two keyboards and ribbon controller running. I've never used anything like this before (I'm more of a crappy guitar player), but am looking forward to learning how to use this thing.

No pics yet, when we were working on this, I only had my camera phone with me, and those pics didn't turn out very well. Tomorrow I will take my camera in with me and throw some pictures up.

Here is a list of the moog's components:
2 Keyboard controllers
1 Ribbon controller
1 950 B Scale Programmer (does this tune the keyboards? I know, not really "tune," but for all intents and purposes?)
3 901 ABB Oscillator banks
3 901 VCO
2 904 4 channel mixers
2 960 sequencers
2 962 Sequential switches (no idea what these do)
2 panels of something called "Multiples" with two banks of 4 1/4" jacks. Also have no idea what this does.
2 961 interfaces (no idea about these, either)
1 914 Fixed Filter Bank
1 905 Reverb Unit
1 904 B Voltage Controlled High Pass Filter
1 904 C Filter Coupler (don't know about this one, either)
1 904 A Voltage Controlled Low Pass Filter
3 902 VCA
3 911 Envelope Generators
1 911 A Dual Trigger Delay
1 912 Envelope Follower