MicrowaveXT, JD-800, or original V-synth?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
SYNbiotic

MicrowaveXT, JD-800, or original V-synth?

Post by SYNbiotic » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:15 pm

So I've narrowed down my first hardware purchase to one of these three synths. I'm a psytrance/Goa producer with a budget of $1000. I am looking for unique, high quality tones but more important for me is the overall workflow and control surface. I'm the kind of guy who likes to sit down and start turning knobs to be surprised and inspired.

I have a full software setup on my computer so I'm looking for something out of my hardware that I cannot get through software... which really boils down to the custom control surface. The music I make requires a lot of real-time tweaking.

And I don't do presets. They will be wiped from the machine when I get it.

My hunch is the V-synth... but the Microwave and the JD-800 have such a robust fan-base that I feel I must consider them as well. I've heard entire Goa albums made from the JD-800 and all those sliders look like heaven. The MicrowaveXT seems like an overall favorite, but I'm curious if there are modern software synths that can stand up to it these days.

Any advice, stories or suggestions (even other synths) would be appreciated.

tallowwaters
Gear: LC-MS/MS

Post by tallowwaters » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:25 pm

buy the one you want. start a trend of just buying what you want, that way we might never see these types of threads again.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

gs

Post by gs » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:26 pm

I was not aware that MicrowaveXT had a control surface. It's a module, no?
Kurzweil PC3, Yamaha MOX8, Korg Z1, Alesis Ion, Alesis QS8.2, Kawai K3M

SYNbiotic

Post by SYNbiotic » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:29 pm