newbie needs help

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Bar2

newbie needs help

Post by Bar2 » Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:44 pm

Hi I am new to this forum as you can see. I am planning to buy a synthesizer but the problem is I don't know much stuff about them at all. Reason I wanna buy a synth is to create my own sounds and make some trance, industrial, ebm and dark sounding music. For example ATB, Moby, Wumpscut, and so on. So lets say i need something that can do anything from nice strings to the distorted screaming noises. I have learnt about Kawai k5k but it looks like a synth for an expert user. Interface is important for me because I am totally new to the world of synthesizers and keyboards. My budget is limited. Keyboards like roland juno d , sh 201 yamaha mm6 are what I can afford and a bit more maybe. Things that cost pretty much the same with them in the second hand market are ok too. I feel lost and confused at the moment can you guys help me? I hope to find what I am looking for as this topic goes on. Thank you... (sorry for my english , its not my main language)

alan partridge

Post by alan partridge » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:11 am

sounds like you should start with a nice simple box mate. if you want hard synth sounds & drums go for your 201, if you want strings, piano sounds, synth sounds that aren't so hard,drums, go for your yamaha.

juno-d'll give you both, but not as good at either.

Bar2

Post by Bar2 » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:23 am

is there anything that combines the hard sounds and soft trance string sounds? and do you think that preset rhythm sets are essential for composing stuff? because sh 201 doesnt have that feature i think and what i read from the reviews tells me that mm6 and juno d are not capable of deep editing and creating unique sounds. are there any models that have simple interface like sh 201 but a wider sound range and effects

alan partridge