Owning two of the same synthesizer - Is it wrong?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
tyrannosaurus mark
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:10 am

Post by tyrannosaurus mark » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:44 pm

Hmm, that'd be an interesting moog product right there

However I'm more interested in using it multitimbraly, so it looks like I'll be going down to the store to buy another LP.. heheh oh the extravagance
Moog LP + Casio SK1 and MT-75 + tube amp = good tone.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:53 pm

dddoherty@hotmail.com wrote:i dont see why they didnt make the LP with an optional 4 voice polyphony or something. is there a reason?
People probably aren't prepared to pay $3500+ for one.

Tiitu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:28 am
Location: EU

Oberheim Matrix-1000

Post by Tiitu » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:59 pm

4 x Oberheim M1000 = 32 voices polyphony with 4 voices multi-timbral. Moreover, this synth has a speciality: Several units can be assigned to play a note in turn, one after an other. This effect is not easy to do even with most new synths without using a DAW.

And, the minimum number in my opinion is 3, because then you can set the 1st on the left channel, the 2nd in the middle, and the 3rd on the right channel.

:D
Last edited by Tiitu on Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
piRoN
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 7:04 am
Gear: A fair bit.
Location: The crotch of The Lucky Country

Post by piRoN » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:00 pm

I've got a brick wall you can borrow, Stab. Slightly worn, but still serviceable.
Ensoniq EPS-m | Elby Designs ASM-2 | Yamaha TQ5 | Akai S3000XL | Akai X7000 | Novation KS-4 | SCI Prophet 2000 | Kawai K1m | Korg Monotribe | Korg Monotron | Roland S-50 | Roland D-10 | Roland MKS-7 | Yamaha RX11

Tiitu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:28 am
Location: EU

Post by Tiitu » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:04 pm

Any spare walls?

User avatar
BlackGnosis
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Real name: Stormy
Gear: See signature image.
Band: Eridani V
Location: San Angelo, TX
Contact:

Post by BlackGnosis » Mon Jan 21, 2008 2:23 pm

I've always wanted to get a second microkorg, the thought of two microkorgs would be kinda fun I think =)
Image
Ashe37 wrote:I find it funny that you're a guitar pedal snob and yet don't own a single analog synth.

User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Post by JSRockit » Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:04 pm

I don't see anything wrong with having two of the same mono synth...a ton of people have multiple TB-303s.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

Escobar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 4:45 pm

Post by Escobar » Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:39 pm

I have two Emax I; a rack and the keyboard version and two Prophet 2002 rack. I wanted more polyphony and both the Emax and the Prophet supports MIDI overflow which makes it possible to play more than eight notes/voices simultaneously. A specially goood feture to use with the 'Grand piano' sound.
Roland MKS-70 | Roland SuperJX | Roland S-770 | Roland S-50 | Roland MC-500 | Roland TR-505 | Emulator III rack | Emulator II+HD | Emax HD rack | Emax Kb | Prophet 2002 | Yamaha TQ-5

User avatar
Dirk
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:56 am

Post by Dirk » Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:23 pm

JSRockit wrote:I don't see anything wrong with having two of the same mono synth...a ton of people have multiple TB-303s.
I have 2 TB-303's.
I have 2 System 100's (2x 101 & 2x 102)
I very soon (couple of day's) will have a MKS50 and have a Juno-2.
All Animals Are Created Equal But Some Are More Equal Than Others.

User avatar
Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:43 pm
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6
Location: NH

Post by Synthaholic » Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:38 pm

I only have two 106s because I got them together in a single eBay auction. One is in resaleable condition after replacing a voice chip (and has been sold). The other is a fixer upper, which is awaiting parts.

But if a synth isn't multitimberal, having more than one gets around that issue. But then, I'd rather have two similar, rather than identical, synths. Such as a Juno-60 and a 106, instead of two 106s. More flexibility/variety is available that way.

If you play live, more is always better. One concert I went to, one of the keyboard players had a Motif XS6 atop an XS8. Sounds redundant except that one has weighted keys and the other is unweighted, and he could play two different patches at once without having to split the keyboard.

Also, if you use synths that don't have patch memories (such as the Minimoog), having several on hand is handy since then you can keep them set to your favorite patches and just switch from one synth to another.
Two VCO: thanks to the push rods, one can choose several forms of waves at the same time!
(from a Babelfish translation of a Jupiter-6 site)

Yamaha: Motif XS6, TX802 Roland: D-550 Alesis: A6 Andromeda

User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Gear: 6th
Location: Rocket City USA
Contact:

Post by cornutt » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:01 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote:If you have more than one of the same synth you'll go blind. Check it out, it's in the bible.
Yes, that's known as polygaphony. :lol:

Seriously, one reason to own two or more of a synth would be if the synth is one that is capable of voice overflow. Then, the second or subsequent ones are basically expansions to the first one -- they add more voices. The Matrix-1000 and the JD990 are two that come to mind off the top of my head.

User avatar
Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:43 pm
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6
Location: NH

Post by Synthaholic » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:13 pm

cornutt wrote:Yes, that's known as polygaphony. :lol:
:lol: :lol: Good one.
Seriously, one reason to own two or more of a synth would be if the synth is one that is capable of voice overflow...
Ohh, so that means it's ok if I get more than one Prophet '08... :D
Two VCO: thanks to the push rods, one can choose several forms of waves at the same time!
(from a Babelfish translation of a Jupiter-6 site)

Yamaha: Motif XS6, TX802 Roland: D-550 Alesis: A6 Andromeda

MrFrodo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:29 pm
Real name: Eric
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by MrFrodo » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:34 pm

I don't, but a friend of mine has a trio of Korg units with the same engine, the original 01W, the 01WProX and the 05rW (like I use). If you ask me, THAT'S pretty heavy.

I've sometimes thought of buying several Oberheim Matrix synths/modules and poly-chaining them together. Would that count?
The greatest thing we ever have is the will to survive.

Rest in peace, Dr. Robert Moog.

http://www.ericbenjamingordon.com
http://cdbaby.com/cd/ebgordon
http://www.myspace.com/ericbenjamingordon

User avatar
otto
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: Utah

Post by otto » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:47 pm

Do what works for you. I would have a hard time not buying something different myself, particularly for $1000 (hello MEK) but I'm not you.[/u]
hello darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Joey » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:17 pm

I could see buying two of the same synth, one for studio use, and one for live use.
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

Post Reply