Din sync drum machine

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
sleestack
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:21 am

Din sync drum machine

Post by sleestack » Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:12 pm

Is there a din sync drum machine with multiple outs AND velocity control with a song write mode? The tr-707 is almost there, but it only seems to have 2 velocity options.

justinvm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:03 pm

Post by justinvm » Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:15 pm

None of the roland machines with din sync will have what you're looking for.
The 909, 707 and 626 all have multiple outs, song mode, and some form of velocity. But not the velocity is usually discerete as you described.. 2 steps.. or non existent.

You'd be better off buying a more recent drum machine, and using a midi to sync converter if thats what you require?

User avatar
BritSynths
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:00 pm

Post by BritSynths » Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:50 pm

The Novation Drumstation has a DInSync output I believe, haven't looked around the back of mine for ages
DW8000,MS2000B,JX3P,PG200,SH-32,JV-1010,MU90R, TX81Z,CZ101,VZ8M, Drumstation,AStation,XR10,RT-232,VirusB,K4R,Proteus 2000:Oscar,PhilipRees CSF,C16,Roland Gaia, Studiologic Sledge,Quasimidi Quasar,NanoSynth,NanoBass,Korg 03/RW, SR-88

User avatar
k5k
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:36 am
Gear: SH101, Pulse, Poly800, CZ5000, ESI-32, ADX1, DR110, DR5
Band: K5K
Location: AK
Contact:

Post by k5k » Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:39 am

my 707 seems to have full velocity control when being sequenced externally, but I may be crazy....
and then I'm only using the trigger out rather than din.
aklass.com
godrekidz.co.nz
k5k.aklass.org
breakcoreisland.com

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Post by Sir Ruff » Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:52 am

The 626 has 6 (?) velocity levels? but I have no idea how it responds over midi... velocity may be non-existant (and there's no DIN)..


why do you need it to be DIN? (or maybe I should say, why don't you just buy a cheap converter?)
Do you even post on vse bro?

sleestack
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:21 am

Post by sleestack » Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:17 am

I want to trigger other things with the individual outs on a drum machine and sync it with Din sync to an MC-4. I am assuming that a midi converter will mess with the timing. Midi = crappy timing right? I'm trying to get really tight timing.

The sp1200 has a trigger input. I wonder if that works well.

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Post by Sir Ruff » Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:29 pm

sleestack wrote:I want to trigger other things with the individual outs on a drum machine and sync it with Din sync to an MC-4. I am assuming that a midi converter will mess with the timing. Midi = crappy timing right? I'm trying to get really tight timing.

The sp1200 has a trigger input. I wonder if that works well.
I can't comment on the timing issue... a better midi converter shouldn't really have any timing issues at all. Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything that would fit your needs.
Do you even post on vse bro?

Post Reply