Beginner

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Alpha10

Beginner

Post by Alpha10 » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:05 am

Hi to all

It's my first post, i found this forum very useful with pro members in synth.

I'm new in music world, and i just play piano for about one month, i want to study piano and synth simultaneously.

i don't like trance style so the Roland SH201 isn't good for me as my first synth.

i don't want to buy very simple and easy synth and search for another in next 6 or 8 months, my budget is about ~700$ maybe Waldorf blofeld is difficult for first synth but i think it has

more options and features than any others like SH201 , JP8080 ,...

and also i found many books about basic of synth and virtual Analog synths but i dont know the best of them.

Would you please recommend some other option and best educational synth books ?

thanks

gfriden

Post by gfriden » Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:13 am

Hello Alpha10, and welcome to the forum. I hope you will enjoy it here.

As for your questions; I can't relly recommend you any synths, since you are apparently looking to buy a VA, while I only have classic analogs and digitals myself, although I'd say you're on the right track picking a synth that does subtractive synthesis. They're usually easier to learn.

As for literature, I'd recommend just getting the synth, reading the manual carefully and finally, take a look at this site:

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/allsynthsecrets.htm

There should be plenty of things there to start with. Good Luck!
Art is not a copy of the real world. One of the damn things is enough.

JugJug

Post by JugJug » Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:00 pm

First , it's not because a certain synth is promoted or received as trancy (insert other style) , that this is the only use of it. The person of the artist makes the music, not the synthesizer.