Korg Radias with Electribe ESX/EMX

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
xHellRaverx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:56 am

Korg Radias with Electribe ESX/EMX

Post by xHellRaverx » Sun May 11, 2008 12:04 am

Would this be a good synth combo? I'm planning on doing some trancey stuff with hard beats, along with some ambient stuff. Thoughts?

User avatar
JackAstro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:21 am
Contact:

Post by JackAstro » Sun May 11, 2008 2:36 am

Great combo. Just make sure you like the Korg sound. Electribes are great, and having 2 or 3 of them makes things waaay more fun.

xHellRaverx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:56 am

Post by xHellRaverx » Sun May 11, 2008 2:40 am

I saw a video on youtube of some guy doing a remake of an Access Virus demo song called Endorphins. And I must say, that Radias has the sound I truly want to make. And to mix the awesomeness of the Radias up with some awesome beats from the electribes, I think I'm gonna have alot of fun ^_^

User avatar
Synthprophet
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 5:05 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Synthprophet » Sun May 11, 2008 10:16 am

What is it with the tube valves on the EMS/ESX? Some say the livingtime of those are short. If these units are discontinued, is it even possible to get new tubes?
Clavia: /Nord Lead 2x/
Roland: /AX-Synth/D-50/SH-201/
Korg: /EMX-1/Microkorg/Monotron/MS-20 Mini

User avatar
9mm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 8:12 pm
Location: los angeles

Post by 9mm » Sun May 11, 2008 10:52 am

yeah. you can replace them anytime you want really. possibly with better sounding tubes... :twisted:
AX60|AX80|JD990|S612+MD280|SQ80|Micron|ER1mkII|RY30|TG33|VT1

Wanted: super bass station, drum station v2 or d-station, evolver

xHellRaverx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:56 am

Post by xHellRaverx » Sun May 11, 2008 2:15 pm

Where exactly would you get replacement tubes if the time ever sprung up that the tubes gave out? I don't want my Electribes to become a dustbox.

gd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:54 pm
Location: Ontario

Post by gd » Sun May 11, 2008 2:24 pm

just a quick question on the tubes in the emx/s do they have the LED behind them? I have a Vox Tonelab (owned by Korg) that has a tube and ppl thought the tubes were going bad when it was the LED that stopped working for some reason.
Prophet 08, Mini D, Radias, 2 x JD-990, Juno-60, 2 x JP-8080, Fantom X6, Speakeasy Stereo Rackmount Vintage Tube Preamp ...

User avatar
SickMonkey
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:51 pm

Post by SickMonkey » Sun May 11, 2008 3:11 pm

xHellRaverx wrote:Where exactly would you get replacement tubes if the time ever sprung up that the tubes gave out? I don't want my Electribes to become a dustbox.
AFAIK, they are standard components, so they (or compatible, possibly superior, equivalents as 9mm mentioned above) should be available at any place that sells electronic components.

monolith
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1172
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:37 am

Post by monolith » Sun May 11, 2008 4:11 pm

hey, here's a link from the korg electribe forum about replacing/sourcing tubes for emx/esx's.

http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=31647

Hope this is of some help! :thumbleft:

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Post by supermel74 » Sun May 11, 2008 8:03 pm

xHellRaverx wrote:Where exactly would you get replacement tubes if the time ever sprung up that the tubes gave out? I don't want my Electribes to become a dustbox.
www.eurotubes.com These guys are great and will answer any questions you have about replacing your tubes and getting the sound you're after. I ordered replacement tubes from them for my ESX because I wanted to be able to crank the tube gain and get less distortion. The tubes I'm using now do exactly that.

xHellRaverx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:56 am

Post by xHellRaverx » Sun May 11, 2008 10:28 pm

Thanks for that link man. Itll come in handy later on for sure. But guys, what do you think about a Korg Radias/Electribe ESX/EMX combo for music like Industrial? Cause I like the sounds the radias makes.

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Post by supermel74 » Sun May 11, 2008 10:32 pm

xHellRaverx wrote:Thanks for that link man. Itll come in handy later on for sure. But guys, what do you think about a Korg Radias/Electribe ESX/EMX combo for music like Industrial? Cause I like the sounds the radias makes.
I think the ESX would be great for industrial. You can really twist and mangle your samples up with it

xHellRaverx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:56 am

Post by xHellRaverx » Sun May 11, 2008 10:44 pm

Sweet. I'm thinking of having my starting setup like this:

Korg RADIAS (Keyboard)
Korg Electribe EMX
Korg Electribe ESX
iMac with Logic Studio (For recording and such)
Vocal Effects

User avatar
XeemEyexoX
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:22 am
Location: Utah
Contact:

Post by XeemEyexoX » Mon May 12, 2008 2:24 am

I think its a pretty sweet combo, i personally like the digital-esque sounds of the Radias, which if/when i'm making industrial or anything heavier like that... i love some piercing digital sound. and the tribes are stellar for anything beat oriented, the ESX bit decimator is AWESOME for anything like industrial/power noise/harsh ebm etc... its the number one effect i use on my ES-1.

i say go for it!!!
Live Love XeemEyexoX
www.xeemeyexox.com

Post Reply