Can you help with my MOOG project?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Bloomie23

Can you help with my MOOG project?

Post by Bloomie23 » Tue May 13, 2008 2:13 pm

Hello there im a music student from england and im wirting a paper on why people still use an analog system in a digital world .
and i was wondering if any one could tell me
why you still use analog ?
what sytem you use and how long ?
or just anything that you think might help .

thanks for reading
yours
Richard Bloomfield (25 UK )

Jack Spider
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Gear: -
Bit One
Boss DR-220
Boss DR-660
DSI Mono Evolver Keyboard
Korg LP-10
Roland XP-50
Yamaha QX21

Post by Jack Spider » Tue May 13, 2008 2:54 pm

Welcome to VSE, Richard.

The main reasons I still use analogue synths are:

- for certain types of sound, they produce a quality of sound that digital synths can emulate very well, but not quite reproduce 100%. By this, I mean sitting down with the machine and hearing the sound straight from it, rather than a recording. The instabilities and imperfections of an analogue synth and how they affect the sound are a big part of the attraction.

- simplicity of operation. On most analogue synths, everything you need to program it is in front of you - no menus or sub-menus to navigate.

- a lot of my favourite artists used analogue synths, which triggered my interest in them, so there's a nostalgic attachment to them, for me.

At the moment, the only analogue synth I have is a Roland Jupiter 6, which I've used for two years now.

Hope this helps!
I didn't get where I am today by posting on internet forums.
http://www.myspace.com/thegreenalsatian
http://www.soundclick.com/greenalsatian

t.o.t.s.

Post by t.o.t.s. » Tue May 13, 2008 4:13 pm

Analog has it's character. Digital has it's character. Both sets of tools are useful so I use both. That's all.