If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Naive Teen Idol
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:14 am
Gear: Roland Jupiter 6, Studio Electronics MIDIMini, DSI Evolver, Linn LM-2 Linndrum, Roland TR-77, Roland GR-300, Novation Remote SL 25

If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by Naive Teen Idol » Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:06 pm

...what would it be?

Two scenarios:

1) The synth would complement your other instruments in the rig, which could include softsynths and emulators.
2) It's the only instrument you can make music on.

User avatar
23
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:19 am
Gear: TB-303, MC-505, MC-09, V-Synth GT, FR-777, FR-XS, MFB: Synth II, EMU Proteus 2500/CS, FS1R, Supernova II, Fusion 6HD, ER-1 MKII
Band: 23, A23P, Piss Ant
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by 23 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:16 pm

What exactly constitutes a "vintage" synth?

User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by JSRockit » Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:30 pm

I'd choose a Roland TR-808 or TB-303 for scenrio #1 and a Synthi AKS for scenerio #2.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2141
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: .com, mpc, and a studio full of behringer clones.
Location: Chicago

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by wiss » Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:56 pm

I am trying my a*s off too, just not going to happen
Last edited by wiss on Sat Aug 09, 2008 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
"All we used was the explosion and the orchestra hit. The Fairlight was a $100,000 waste of space."

User avatar
OMNI26
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:11 am
Location: North Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by OMNI26 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:35 pm

For me, that's easy........Minimoog. For either of your scenarios.
And yes, you can make an entire album with just a Minimoog.

User avatar
carbon111
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:15 am
Band: Carbon111
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by carbon111 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:43 pm

Prophet T-8 for both scenarios.
Best Regards, James
--
My New album "Persephone":

Carbon111 Website: http://www.carbon111.com

Carbon111 Blog: http://carbon111.blogspot.com

User avatar
sentientprogram
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 6:10 pm
Gear: Pro 2, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, Prophet 12, El Capistan, blueSky, Deco, Abelton Live, DX7, RX15, TR-8, Metasonix F-1, MF Drive.

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by sentientprogram » Sat Aug 09, 2008 12:04 am

Arp 2600 for me.

User avatar
King Julien
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:01 am

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by King Julien » Sat Aug 09, 2008 1:09 am

JP-8 but i must admit I've never played one, just going by reputation.

User avatar
Esus
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:58 am

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by Esus » Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:04 am

Moog, Buchla, DotCom or like modular...mono-or duo-phonic. That'll separate the men from the boys...

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by griffin avid » Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:11 am

Tough question. I'm trying to think of a category that softs won't fill. So I'm thinking super meaty bass and an easy programming system. A classic minimoog works. But the drum machine idea is also key...

Number 2 is tougher.
What makes a load of drum sounds, has a sequencer AND can do bread and butter as well as synth tones?
I couldn't sit with a modular approach for every sound. But if I could go crazy with the modules than that might be the only solution.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
Esus
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:58 am

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by Esus » Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:36 am

If not a modular, then a mini, oddy, oberheim, 2600, synthacon, etc. Use white/pink noise for percussion. That's it.

User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Real name: Dave
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by shaft9000 » Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:01 am

1) Buchla 200
2) CS-80 - if it's all i have, i'll accept those limitations
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies

User avatar
otto
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: Utah

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by otto » Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:50 am

Well if I could have pretty much whatever I wanted as a vintage synth and assuming it is a self-contained synth it would probably be an Arp 2600 or possibly a prophet 5 depending on my many moods.
hello darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again

User avatar
Huppo
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 2:58 pm
Gear: V-synth, broken Fusion 6HD, HPD10, MP-7, 60+ guitars, etc.
Band: naught
Location: Western Mars
Contact:

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by Huppo » Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:45 am

I'd have the most expensive one, whatever it is, then sell it.
~huppo

Please feel free to add me to your Foes list.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1433
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: If You Could Have Just One Vintage Synth...

Post by Hugo76 » Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:03 am

Roland tb-303 in scenario 1)
and since I really don't have a clue on scenario 2), put me down for a 303 there as well :D ;)

Post Reply