The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by Sir Ruff » Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:17 pm

So License SL, the blofeld sampling option is definitely for sale now. Anyone have any experience with it yet?

MD UW vs blofeld is an interesting one... I had wanted the MD UW specifically for the sampling option, but if I could get that, and a far more complex synthesis engine with the blofeld, then I think that is the route I would go.
Do you even post on vse bro?

pneuman
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:38 am
Gear: Yamaha CS2X
Waldorf Blofeld

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by pneuman » Fri May 01, 2009 12:58 pm

I haven't bought the update myself yet, but a few people on the Waldorf user-forum mailing list have. From what I've seen there it seems pretty straightforward -- you can select samples just like you select wavetables on oscillators 1 and 2, and the actual samples can be multisamples (layered just on key seemingly -- I haven't seen mention of velocity layering).

The weak link at the moment seems to be the sample upload features -- to get your own samples on to it you have to write up a patch definition file, run it through the Spectre tool (from the Waldorf web archive) to generate a MIDI file, and then play that MIDI file to the Blofeld via USB. So, right now uploading your own samples is a total pain, but hopefully the tools will improve.

blitzdj86
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:33 am
Gear: Modified DR-110, ES-1 Mk2, KP3, Various Pedals, MG82CX mixer.

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by blitzdj86 » Fri May 01, 2009 3:25 pm

oh s**t its out! ordering right now!

*edit*

I'm too poor for now :lol:

Just a question - is it electronic/download delivery? Or do they actually ship it out on a CD or something..

*edit*

found info here.. seems it is a DVD:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 3D1&_rdc=1

User avatar
futureworlder
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:43 am
Gear: modular | monome | x0xb0x | ableton
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by futureworlder » Mon May 04, 2009 7:14 am

I'm very curious to hear about this as well; I think it was Xpander who has taken it upon himself to be our guinea pig*? ;) but I could be mistaken...






*upgrade does come with a 30-day money-back guarantee
"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers"- Pablo Picasso
http://www.myspace.com/briantraister

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by Bitexion » Mon May 04, 2009 7:49 am

I've had the Blofeld (not the keyboard version) for some months now, it's such an awesome little synth. Complete different from all the others I have. The sample stuff is already in the synth hardware-wise I think, there is a part in the waveforms called sample 1-25 which is empty at the moment. So I guess it'll be a software upgrade you can download.

blitzdj86
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:33 am
Gear: Modified DR-110, ES-1 Mk2, KP3, Various Pedals, MG82CX mixer.

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by blitzdj86 » Mon May 04, 2009 10:08 am

As stated before.. its on a disc that is mailed out to you.

I ordered mine on the weekend, should be here in a day or two... Will keep you all updated.

zoomtheline
No Longer Registered

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by zoomtheline » Wed May 06, 2009 10:11 am

Its just been delivered to work along with a new MFBstep64... hooray!
although i'm pretty annoyed as I'm at work and I thought that it wouldn't come today so left the blofeld at home.

means either going home to get it so I can try it out tonight or waiting till tomorrow and not having a chance to try it out till friday, damn!

It is a disc with an activation code which when put into a waldorf web address sends you out a licence key midi file which is loaded in the same way OS upgrades are... I assume.

f**k it I'm going home to get old baldy!

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by Bitexion » Wed May 06, 2009 10:29 am

In any case, you can't sample your own stuff into it and play it back like a sampler?
Only import samples from the computer that have been converted by that conversion-thing.

masstronaut
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:26 pm

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by masstronaut » Wed May 06, 2009 10:41 am

There's no audio input, but you can still use any sample you like. You know, record it on the computer. The conversion and import process looks a bit cumbersome at the moment, I hope something slicker is made.

And I also hope those Largo f*ckers don't get the sample option. ;)

blitzdj86
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:33 am
Gear: Modified DR-110, ES-1 Mk2, KP3, Various Pedals, MG82CX mixer.

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by blitzdj86 » Wed May 06, 2009 3:52 pm

Yeah the largo is really starting to piss me off actually.. given the blofeld's current state.

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by Joey » Wed May 06, 2009 5:18 pm

so is the nord wave totally irrelevant now?

and no, largo wont have sampling, as said by a few beta testers on the waldorf user forum
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

masstronaut
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:26 pm

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by masstronaut » Wed May 06, 2009 5:34 pm

Makes sense I think.

But then it doesn't have the PPG filter yet and supposedly that's coming.

zoomtheline
No Longer Registered

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by zoomtheline » Thu May 07, 2009 10:32 am

All installed ok and had a mess around last night.

Its fun! most of the samples are pretty good only problem is to get to get them sounding realistic when playing (if thats what you after) but thats more down to me not knowing good techniques to do so.

Its really good to be able to have a really messed up soundscape with a real piano sat in the middle which obviously can be messed up as any osc can be. although I was hoping that It would treat the sample more like a wavetable than an osc so you can scroll through the wave but no luck... oh well thats not the end of the world.

Loading own samples is not really clear to me yet as I didn't look at the manual or anything, but will look into that.

Piano does not seem amazing but I think a bit of tweaking and layering could make it sound more realistic.

Its definatley worth it to pay for the add on, I hope the loading own samples part is not to complex and software orientated as that is what will make this option completely amazing and worth it.

anyone got any tips or tecniques to make sampled strings/piano sound more realistic when playing on keys? (without getting a V synth)

blitzdj86
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:33 am
Gear: Modified DR-110, ES-1 Mk2, KP3, Various Pedals, MG82CX mixer.

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by blitzdj86 » Thu May 07, 2009 2:24 pm

Hey so there are no new modulation parameters available or anything?

That kinda blos... (I can see alot of those jokes happening if waldorf leaves the job half done)

I was really hoping to be able to modulate start/end/loop points etc...

I guess its not out of the question that they will add it in the future.. I mean its not like it would take up much processing power to redefine 4 numbers.

Does it even have loop points at all?

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: The Blofeld's sample upgrade

Post by Joey » Thu May 07, 2009 4:13 pm

zoomtheline wrote:
anyone got any tips or tecniques to make sampled strings/piano sound more realistic when playing on keys? (without getting a V synth)
buy a triton. seriously, the sampling was implemented to give you new ways to design your sounds, not to do basic piano sounds

that would be a waste of a synth
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

Post Reply