CZ and DX

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: CZ and DX

Post by Bitexion » Fri May 08, 2009 7:20 pm

h**l, now you can sell it and claim it's a "special custom JM Jarre curved edition". Imagine the prices!

JMP
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: CZ and DX

Post by JMP » Thu May 14, 2009 10:53 am

Had a DX27 & CZ5000 combination for many years in my late teens and early twenties and got a lot out of them although the DX took loads of programming time to get good results. Run either of them through a Boss chorus and they can sould quite lush (felt the CZ chorus was is a bit naff myself).

They're bargain synths now. Whilst not a lover of FM/DX synths these days (particularly chocolate brown ones) I'd love a CZ1 if I had the room.

jx8p
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 9:03 pm
Gear: Roland JX-8P.
Roland TR-505.
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: CZ and DX

Post by jx8p » Thu May 14, 2009 9:16 pm

I would buy a CZ (much cheaper than a DX), but i've heard they usually have problems with batteries and deleted patches...

User avatar
Villi
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:02 pm
Gear: Yamaha RS7000 & DX200, Quasimidi Sirius, Casio CZ5000
Location: Norway

Re: CZ and DX

Post by Villi » Thu May 14, 2009 10:08 pm

My CZ5000 has an easily accessible (Without opening the case) regular alkaline battery. I could even swap it without powering down the synth.

User avatar
aeon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:18 am
Location: a lily-pad in the pool of my mind.
Contact:

Re: CZ and DX

Post by aeon » Thu May 14, 2009 10:12 pm

I'll be joining the Yamaha FM army soon - but it won't be a DX or TX. :)


cheers,
Ian

User avatar
braincandy
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: CZ and DX

Post by braincandy » Fri May 15, 2009 12:35 am

aeon wrote:I'll be joining the Yamaha FM army soon - but it won't be a DX or TX. :)


cheers,
Ian
FS1r?
Fender Blacktop Jazzmaster | Squier CV Duo-Sonic | e6400 Ultra | Blofeld | a bunch of effects

jx8p
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 9:03 pm
Gear: Roland JX-8P.
Roland TR-505.
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: CZ and DX

Post by jx8p » Fri May 15, 2009 3:50 am

Villi wrote:My CZ5000 has an easily accessible (Without opening the case) regular alkaline battery. I could even swap it without powering down the synth.
That's cool!, but when you take it out and change them, even if it's for a few seconds, ¿does it keep the patches?.

User avatar
Shreddie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 7:50 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda, Fusion 8HD: ART SGX Nightbass SE: Kawai K5000s: Yamaha A3000 V2, EX7, FS1R, PSS-480 (Don't laugh, it rocks!) and 4 planks.
Location: UK

Re: CZ and DX

Post by Shreddie » Fri May 15, 2009 4:03 am

braincandy wrote:
aeon wrote:I'll be joining the Yamaha FM army soon - but it won't be a DX or TX. :)


cheers,
Ian
FS1r?
Or SY/TG series... Perhaps one of the PLG boards?

If it's the FS1R, get ready to start wallpapering through a very small letterbox!

User avatar
Otoroko Heavy Industries
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:00 pm
Band: Wolf424/The Republic of Desire

Re: CZ and DX

Post by Otoroko Heavy Industries » Fri May 15, 2009 8:21 am

Villi wrote:My CZ5000 has an easily accessible (Without opening the case) regular alkaline battery. I could even swap it without powering down the synth.
The CZ-1's battery is soldered to the board and you have to take the whole synth apart to access it.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: CZ and DX

Post by madtheory » Fri May 15, 2009 8:45 am

I thought the CZ-5000 used 5 ordinary AA cells?

rockmanrock
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:47 pm

Re: CZ and DX

Post by rockmanrock » Fri May 15, 2009 9:04 am

braincandy wrote:
aeon wrote:I'll be joining the Yamaha FM army soon - but it won't be a DX or TX. :)


cheers,
Ian
FS1r?
FB01 :D

User avatar
Villi
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:02 pm
Gear: Yamaha RS7000 & DX200, Quasimidi Sirius, Casio CZ5000
Location: Norway

Re: CZ and DX

Post by Villi » Fri May 15, 2009 11:00 am

madtheory wrote:I thought the CZ-5000 used 5 ordinary AA cells?
Maybe, but at least I'm sure it was very easy to swap (and that I didn't have to open the case), as I did it without powering it down because I had made a cool patch I wanted to save :lol:

JMP
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: CZ and DX

Post by JMP » Fri May 15, 2009 11:07 am

Villi wrote:
madtheory wrote:I thought the CZ-5000 used 5 ordinary AA cells?
Maybe, but at least I'm sure it was very easy to swap (and that I didn't have to open the case), as I did it without powering it down because I had made a cool patch I wanted to save :lol:
There's a small clip out compartment on the underside to install normal batteries (think they were AA type). Pretty sure you had to replace whilst switched on in order to retain your patches.

User avatar
aeon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:18 am
Location: a lily-pad in the pool of my mind.
Contact:

Re: CZ and DX

Post by aeon » Fri May 15, 2009 9:08 pm

rockmanrock wrote:FB01 :D
Um, no. :D
Shreddie wrote:Or SY/TG series... Perhaps one of the PLG boards?
Had a SY99 a long time ago - no more SY/TG for me [-X - and I don't have anything to plug a PLG into.
braincandy wrote:FS1r?
Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner! =D>
Shreddie wrote:If it's the FS1R, get ready to start wallpapering through a very small letterbox!
No need - Yamaha softeditor here. 8)


chuffed,
Ian

User avatar
iProg
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:28 pm
Real name: Carl
Gear: Prophet-5, Korg PolySix, Roland D-50, JV-1080
Band: ArtWithHeart
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CZ and DX

Post by iProg » Mon May 18, 2009 1:17 pm

Gotta get to try out a CZ series...didn't think Casio made quality synths...

Post Reply