Making analog-type strings on SY77

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Strangenono
Gear: Alesis Fusion 6hd
Roland Jx10
Yamaha SY77
Band: Technoir

Making analog-type strings on SY77

Post by Strangenono » Sat May 16, 2009 7:28 pm

Hi everybody,
I was looking through my yamaha sy77 banks and saw that there were no analog strings on it. I wasn't searching for a perfect recreation of jupiters or obies but something like this.
I started programming the awm section but didn't succeed in . I tried with both saw wave I and II but nothing ended in something decent, always something too "violinistic" , I mean very close to an acoustic sound.I also tried to layer it with itself and detune them but it still sucked. Even the preset called "obie strg" seems lacking something while on some digital keyboards of that time such as m1 or wavestation we were able to find decent analog strings emulations...Does anybody has advices or even sysex of such a thing ? Post demos of your work if you can.
Thx

Syn303
Expert Member
Expert Member
Gear: Quite a bit...
Band: Syn303

Re: Making analog-type strings on SY77

Post by Syn303 » Sat May 16, 2009 8:38 pm

I noticed you own an Alesis Fusion 6HD, why don't you use the multisampling capabilities of that?

Seeing as the Fusion allows multisampling (128 multisamples per sample), you could buy an analogue string machines Sample CD and load them into the fusion, as it accepts WAV and aiff files. That's one possibility you could look at.

One sample CD is XX-Large String Machines (2-CD Collection) http://www.soundsonline.com/XX-Large-St ... S-130.html
| syn303.bandcamp.com | soundcloud.com/syn303 |

b3groover
Band: THEO

Post by b3groover » Sat May 16, 2009 9:09 pm

May I suggest you consider buying this sound bank: http://www.electric-himalaya.com/yamaha_sy77.html