Why buy hardware synths?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
ledhed2222

Why buy hardware synths?

Post by ledhed2222 » Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:54 am

This question is intended to be a little bit provocative, but it's all in the spirit of good music tech conversation.

I'm a serious classical composer with a strong interest in electronics. For fun, I make some house and trance. I run Logic Pro and use MaxMSP, Massive, Thor, Subtractor, and Logic's modeling synth for most of my synthesis. I went over to a friend's place the other day and he showed me his badass synths: a Micro Q, an Alesis Micron, and a Roland Juno. Since I have some cash to burn and I feel like buying a new toy, I'm considering getting a rackmount hardware synth but....

....why buy hardware synths when we can use such amazing softsynths? I get it if you're looking for analog (I don't have the $$ for that), but otherwise aren't hardware synths more expensive and less powerful than softsynths?

Prove me wrong or don't, I'm curious to see what you all think.

megamanx
Gear: nord lead2, roland sh101, yamaha cs5,mono/poly, sub37,Ms20, Chroma polaris,prodigy, esq-1, jx3p
Band: Thieves & Co.

Re: Why buy hardware synths?

Post by megamanx » Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:59 am

because they are sexy...

AstroDan

Post by AstroDan » Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:03 am

I'm curious how you joined a day in the future.

A solid, dedicated engine that never (rarely) crashes and portability.
Too futurist to live.

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:11 am

The reasons to go for hardware over software are:

a) Sound. Some hardware just sounds better ie if you want an analogue sound analogue isn't available in software.
b) Interface. Programming synths on a well designed interface made just for that synth is much better than programming on a computer. Most rack synths are a pain to program though.