Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
theundertakermc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:30 pm

Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by theundertakermc » Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:20 pm

anyone has ever found a way to control a novation xiosynth 25 with another controller ? maybe with cubase i like that little synth but i would like to control it with another synth ... since there's not that many keys ... any idea ? thx

rap and country
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:35 am

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by rap and country » Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:09 pm

i've not actually tried this but you should be able to do it just by routing the midi accordingly in whatever DAW you're using

definitely can't do it without a computer

User avatar
4SAKEN
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:55 pm
Gear: DSI Evolver Desktop
Novation Xiosynth
Akai S900
Roland SPD-6
Roland MC-50
Roland MT-32
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by 4SAKEN » Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:27 am

My intention was to switch to a completely hardware based setup - ie no PC whatsoever. This lead me to investigate the possible methods for sequencing the Xiosynth with my Roland MC-50 hardware sequencer.

Currently the only possible way I have found is to have computer in the middle :(

Fortunately, the MC-50 has 2 MIDI outs so I run one into my gear and the other into the PC where I use MIDI-OX to re-route the incoming MIDI messages from the sequencer back out via USB to the Xio.

It's not my ideal setup as it's not practical for live use, but in the studio (my lounge) it's fine. The PC is on most of the time anyway so it just sits there and does it's thing and I don't even know about it :wink:

DeFex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:12 pm
Gear: Virus Ti. DSI Evolver. 36 DSP soniccore scope + SDK.
Quasimidi 309. FR revolution. MIDI controllers. 3x monome64. NI Maschine.
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by DeFex » Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:45 am

One of the main reasons why my xio is sitting in a corner. no MIDI in makes it not a real hardware synth to me.
One day i might open it up and see if it could be slightly modified :) maybe The MIDI in is there but just not used.

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by nathanscribe » Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:31 am

@ 4SAKEN: slightly off-topic here, but I saw your Little Otik avatar... A very strange film. Not one I'll be forgetting, I think.

User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by JSRockit » Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:19 pm

Sell 25 key version, get a bigger version?
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: Controlling a Xiosynth 25 with a bigger controller ?

Post by cartesia » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am

there wont be any 'unused' midi input circuit in thexiosynth.. why would they put it in there? Just gonna cost them money for no good reason.

If you knew about electronics and programming, you could perhaps make a small arduino based MIDI in/ USB out box, but not something for the inexperienced.

Post Reply