Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by JSRockit » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:41 pm

Nope... or well, maybe the MBase11... does that count?
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

User avatar
stikygum
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 681
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:21 pm
Location: SOS - Substance over Style

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by stikygum » Sat Sep 12, 2009 6:17 am

I don't think I could justify doing that. Only if you are making big money could you afford to. Otherwise you are too addicted to that sound. A synth has to display some versatility for me, so I can display it more in sound.
"MTV's gaudy overexuberance contributed to the trivialization of the one thing it had been initiated to support, music" - Rik Millhouse

rickyd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:35 pm

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by rickyd » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:27 pm

Roland D-550 - Living Calliope, Shakuhachi
Yamaha Motif Rack - Power Grand
Yamaha DX-7 - several sounds - can't think of the names right now.


These sounds are standard in a lot of the music I make. If it weren't for that though, some synths I wouldn't keep.

User avatar
Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:43 pm
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6
Location: NH

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by Synthaholic » Sun Nov 14, 2010 8:28 pm

madtheory wrote:
Mr Rich wrote:I have a DX9 (worth about a quid) which I keep for one organ/pad sound.
I would've assumed that a TX-7 or DX-7 can do exactly the same thing, it's even sysex compatible AFAIK. But maybe there's something broken in yours that makes it cool :)
[DT]X7 != DX9. The 7s are 6-operator and the 9 is a cheap 4-operator, probably with inferior converters in it. Thus, it might have a special sound or quality that the DX7/TX7 either can't recreate effectively, or happens to exist as a preset on the DX9.
rickyd wrote:Roland D-550 - Living Calliope, Shakuhachi
Yamaha Motif Rack - Power Grand
Yamaha DX-7 - several sounds - can't think of the names right now.
I admit I go to those overused D-50/550 presets more than I should. Combie Strings, Staccato Heaven and Living Calliope are my favorites. I did find a decent software editor for my D-550 though so now I can start programming that wonderful synth again.

TX802 - Full Tines, Tubular Bells and a few patches I made that only FM does well
Two VCO: thanks to the push rods, one can choose several forms of waves at the same time!
(from a Babelfish translation of a Jupiter-6 site)

Yamaha: Motif XS6, TX802 Roland: D-550 Alesis: A6 Andromeda

User avatar
upfineclouds
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:54 am

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by upfineclouds » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:01 pm

As to the original question, no, I don't. It's impossible because even my old keyboard, described as a preset synth, makes many different useful sounds that I love, not to mention the gazillions of timbres that I get from the proper programmable synths.

User avatar
Computer Controlled
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:12 am
Gear: SH-101 . TB-3 . TR-8 . Juno-1 w/PG-300 . TT-303 . Korg ES2 . Beatstep Pro . Pioneer RMX-500
Band: Computer Controlled
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by Computer Controlled » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:23 pm

303/x0xb0x

And i just a Roland M-DC1 just for the few old school Rave leads that are in it.
Synths:
Avalon Bassline . TB-03 . JU-06 . MX-1 . Blofeld . MicroMonsta . Akai S5000
Drum Machines:
TR-09 . TR-8

User avatar
wertpog
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by wertpog » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:27 pm

I have a Sequential Circuits MAX, its a little broken,noisy and covered in rust. Still, It uses the same CEMs found in some old upright video games, so it does those kinds of effects well. I don't have a Defender machine to hand, but I'm sure it sounds the same.
http://modularsamples.com - (public domain samples of classic synths)

ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...
Location: CHICAGO-ish

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by ColorForm2113 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:39 am

I keep the poly800 around for pad/string sounds basically to fill in the background, which it does quite well. Even when I use it for bass its usually underneath my micromoog
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!)

zoomtheline
No Longer Registered

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by zoomtheline » Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:49 pm

Yamaha CS1x. Sure it can do loads but since getting other synths I only tend to fire it up for the piano.

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:12 pm

wertpog wrote:I have a Sequential Circuits MAX, its a little broken,noisy and covered in rust. Still, It uses the same CEMs found in some old upright video games, so it does those kinds of effects well. I don't have a Defender machine to hand, but I'm sure it sounds the same.
The MAX does have some cool sounds in it..
bonne chance

User avatar
Phollop Willing PA
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 840
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:47 pm
Gear: Korg, Moog, Roland, Alesis, ARP, Yamaha, Future Retro
Location: Nova Scotia

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by Phollop Willing PA » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:18 pm

Yes.

Korg Prophecy for the phase wind patch A47 - it's a great lead sound, very textural. I graduated from the DX7 'Feed Lead' to the Prophecy's A47
MOOGSig: Voyager/Theremin, ROLAND: JP8000/MC505/MC50/SH1000/Octapad1/RE 20, CASIO VLtone, KORG: Prophecy/MS2000R/Kaos Pad2/D3200/D888/SDD4000/M3, BOSS SP202/DR110, YAMAHA:CS40M/QX7/WX7/QY10/Reface DX, ARP Exp, MACBETH M5, FR ORB, SONNET, ALESIS SR18

User avatar
krzeppa
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm
Real name: Kevin J
Band: Where the Embers Fall
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by krzeppa » Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:12 pm

My Roland Fantom:
1. Strings4Film
2. Film Octaves
3. Lunar Strings

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by tallowwaters » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:05 pm

Phollop Willing PA wrote:Yes.

Korg Prophecy for the phase wind patch A47 - it's a great lead sound, very textural. I graduated from the DX7 'Feed Lead' to the Prophecy's A47
Ah, mine's a Prophecy for the Southern Accents and Whistler presets. Easy enough to recreate or sample, but never quite the same. Dammit.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

User avatar
mcomeg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:48 am
Gear: Minimoog Voyager, Juno 60, Volca Beats and Bass, Kaossilator, Roland HD-3, Epiphone Casino, Fender Telecaster and Jazz Bass, Takamine Acoustic
Band: Damaged Tape
Location: Nagano, Japan
Contact:

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by mcomeg » Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:11 pm

I kept an Akai AX-60 for a while mostly for the messed up tubular bells sound. When I headed back for Japan, however, I handed it over to a punk rockin' friend (who also enjoys insane synth noise). Fortunately, I had my long lost Juno 60 waiting for me here - stored away in my parents-in-law's house - to fill in that void. When all's said and done, I'm happier with my Juno anyway.

User avatar
sepiakeys
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:22 pm
Gear: Hardware Synthesizers and Guitar Effects
Band: There will be Lions
Location: Switzerland

Re: Do You Keep a Synth Just For One Special Sound?

Post by sepiakeys » Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:11 pm

Yamaha PPS-470 for the "Cosmic" Patch.
Good programming is worth more than the most expensive synthesizer.

Post Reply