Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3514
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by Z » Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:43 pm

OK, so I've seen some YouTube videos where Alesis HR-16 has been modded with custom samples. How is that done? Can I do it to a Roland R-8M? What would be involved in making your own PCM cards for a R8 or similar instrument?

User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2849
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by balma » Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:14 pm

Actually, you can. But it's pretty expensive.

THE E-MU ULTRA can actually burn your own ROMS. But each writeable ROM cost $300-400 each one, as much as the Ultra itself.

And this personal ROM can be used on E-mu modern romplers like the command stations.

That's a dream to me: mangling my own samples on a command station. Just the idea of doing that gives me a hard on....
His sex dungeons are rumored to hold hundreds of people in secret locations around the world.
https://soundcloud.com/balma

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by D-Collector » Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:16 pm

Z wrote:OK, so I've seen some YouTube videos where Alesis HR-16 has been modded with custom samples. How is that done? Can I do it to a Roland R-8M? What would be involved in making your own PCM cards for a R8 or similar instrument?
It would be awesome to just take some cheap old drummachine, Yamaha RX type or something, and just install a new rom with awesome samples. Would blow everyones mind. :lol:

User avatar
Sir Nose
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:54 pm
Real name: Bob
Gear: Machinedrum, Octatrack, Moog LP, x0xb0x, Elka Solist 505, Simmons SDS-400
Location: PA

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by Sir Nose » Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:46 pm

Sample eproms are easily swapped in and out on the SCI Drumtraks. The Oberheim prommer can be used to burn new eproms. Eproms are also readily available with already burned samples. But, I do not know about the R-8M though.

As far as I know ROMS written with the E-mu Ultra are only usable with certain e-mu devices (things that accept the proteus series ROMs)
Funkadelic wrote: nothing is good unless you play with it
all that is good is nasty

User avatar
aredj
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:34 am
Gear: A little bit of E-muAccessJomoxKorg -
Spectralis2!
Location: Toronto ON

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by aredj » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:25 pm

And those emu roms have gone the way of the dodo...
IF I ever actually saw one for sale. . I likely couldn't afford it..

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3514
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by Z » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:03 am

Sir Nose wrote:Sample eproms are easily swapped in and out on the SCI Drumtraks. The Oberheim prommer can be used to burn new eproms. Eproms are also readily available with already burned samples. But, I do not know about the R-8M though.
I'm familiar with burning your own EPROMS for the early machines (Linn, SCI, Oberheim, Simmons), but those are a single drum sound per EPROM (sometimes multiple EPROMS).

I'm pretty sure that new later PCM machines have all their sounds on a single ROM.

I really like the R-8M, but would love to update the sounds. It would also be nice to have a ROM chip with even more sounds. Not sure how much is already loaded in there, but surely we have the technology for at least quadruple what's already in there.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:50 am

Digidesign started out as a company making custom ROMs for the Linndrum (IIRC) and look where they ended up. As people have already said, it can be done, but it's not really cost-effective these days when there are so many cheap samplers around.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by gmeredith » Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:37 am

It's completely possible. These guys are doing it for the HR16 and Kawai R100 and others. The Roland would be no different in process I wouldn't think. Get in contact with them, they might help you try:

http://www.burnkit2600.com/diy-sound-roms/

http://www.burnkit2600.com/kawair100/

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3514
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by Z » Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:51 am

Thanks, Graham. I just emailed them.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by gmeredith » Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:36 am

This guy here has made his own TR626 ROMS, which can't be far off an R8:

http://www.nekosynth.co.uk/wiki/RomHacker

He was on that other site going through the progress of it with them here:

http://www.burnkit2600.com/tr-626-rhythm-decomposer/

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

User avatar
crystalmsc
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2861
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:15 am
Gear: uWaveXT,uQ,Pulse+;Ion;MiniBrt,Karma,Mntrb,Volcas,01R;Venom,NordModular,L2X;Evolver;JP8080,MKS70,JD990,D50,MC909,MC80ex,Microcon2;TG77,RS7k,AN200,AN1x
Band: Crystaline
Location: Synth Garden
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by crystalmsc » Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:50 am

The Zadok SAM-1 for Wavestation, M and T series. Also the Alesis QS line allows sample transfer to the PCMCIA card through Soundbridge.
Kaossilatron - Voicillator
http://crystaline.bandcamp.com
Station: Ableton Live 10 Suite, Obscurium, Push 2, Ultranova, MS-20m, Wavedrums

User avatar
desdinova
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 3:09 am
Location: MA

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by desdinova » Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:27 am

I've made custom PCMCIA flash cards to use in my QS, it's kind of a pain to find 100% legit working cards, especially for any kind of sane price.
rerum concordia discors | genre: wankery

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by gmeredith » Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:55 am

What did you use to make your own QS cards? I was kind of interested in a rack QS a while ago for my own samples but got put off by the price of the cards

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

User avatar
polardark
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:03 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by polardark » Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:18 am

Burning your own sample eeprom for older sample playback units is cheap. You just need an eeprom burner and an empty eeprom of a suitable size. Of course it helps if you know the format of the data you're trying to put in there as well and you should probably know your way around a hex editor.

User avatar
desdinova
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 3:09 am
Location: MA

Re: Is it possible to make your own PCM cards or ROMs?

Post by desdinova » Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:58 pm

gmeredith wrote:What did you use to make your own QS cards? I was kind of interested in a rack QS a while ago for my own samples but got put off by the price of the cards
I used their software, soundbridge. If your QS is original though, you can't burn the cards, just read them. Only the S4+ and the qs6/7/8 keyboards can, iirc. Maybe the QS Piano+, too, I forget.
rerum concordia discors | genre: wankery

Post Reply