TX7 Question

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
SWAN
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:21 pm

TX7 Question

Post by SWAN » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:54 pm

Im looking at a Yamaha tx7 to buy but the seller says when it is switched on it gives the message:

"CMB32 Init Voice"

Anybody with some TX7 knowledge tell me is this is a problem?

ix studio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:19 pm

Re: TX7 Question

Post by ix studio » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:53 pm

i think that just means its working fine ? but has no presets installed maybe ?init is a blank new sound.

SWAN
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:21 pm

Re: TX7 Question

Post by SWAN » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:17 pm

cool - Id just like this confirmed - and also if there are any tx7 users who can y if its easy to load preset banks and where to get them....

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: TX7 Question

Post by D-Collector » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:40 pm

The TX7 can be configured as an individual module or combined with say a DX7. "CMB32 init voice" just means that it is set to patch number 32 in "combine mode", and "init voice" means that it is a blank "initialized" patch. There is nothing wrong with it. You can load in any patch you want. There are loads of websites offering TX7 / DX7 patches. Loading banks in the TX7 is no problem. There are many good programs for that.

User avatar
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:31 pm

Re: TX7 Question

Post by Yoozer » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:42 pm

Install MIDI-OX: http://www.midiox.com/moxdown.htm (scroll down to see version 0.7)

After doing that, go to Options > MIDI Devices

Double-click on the MIDI input and output you want to use and make sure they're hooked up properly (e.g. computer MIDI OUT into TX7 MIDI IN)

Download the Hypra ROM soundset at http://acapella.harmony-central.com/sho ... p=33127764

Unzip the file so you have a folder with separate .syx files.

In MIDI-OX, go to Actions > Send > SysEx file and pick one. The TX7 should say that it's receiving something, and after that, you should be able to play the patches.
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

Post Reply