c-ya

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

c-ya

Post by man-009 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:35 am

i'm out...
Last edited by man-009 on Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:58 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
OriginalJambo
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:04 am
Gear: Check my sig
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by OriginalJambo » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:58 am

I'm in the same situation as you now that I've moved a s**t load of my gear to another premises. At first the room wasn't heated and I didn't have much trouble but now that the nights are getting much colder I've installed a few heaters. One night I forgot to leave the heaters on the anti-freeze setting and stupidly left it for another day.

As the temperature outside was really plummeting I decided to go check all the gear was okay. First thing I powered on was the Polysix. Now all the LEDs usually flash briefly when you hit the power switch, but for some reason they stayed illuminated and nothing seemed to work! I panicked and then phoned my synth tech who told me it'd either be a power supply issue or a panel scanning issue. Fortunately he also mentioned that when he gigged his old Memorymoog it would refuse to work if the conditions weren't acceptable, so severely hoping (and doubting!) this would be the case I rushed it home.

I stuck it in the most well-heated room in the house for about 2 hours and had a look inside. Nothing seemed out of place so I crossed my fingers and powered it up. Thankfully I was extremely lucky - it fired up as if nothing had happened and one of the patch buttons that never seemed to work had somehow miraculously fixed itself.

Anyway, I went back and powered up the rest of the gear - a DX7, a JX-10 and a V-Synth. And the rack gear too. No problems whatsoever.

So based on my experience if it's a fragile, old synth I seriously wouldn't recommend it - my Polysix is now safe at home, as is the rest of my analogue gear. Sure in this instance it was likely some sort of safety net KORG had implemented in the unit that caused it to seize up, but I'd still say that you should avoid it if possible!
Last edited by OriginalJambo on Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3502
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by Z » Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:17 am

I was going to ask a similar question. I've got a couple of Rhodes sitting in my warehouse and Texas temps are now getting low. I really don't have room to move them into one of my offices (my fellow Dallas VSErs can attest to my limited office space cluttered with synths), but could make room if it is a life or death issue for the pianos.

User avatar
Old Iron Giant
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:18 am
Gear: Virus Ti2, Indig2, EmuXL7, Microkorg.
Band: KHz+
Location: Far Side of the moon
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by Old Iron Giant » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:35 am

check your user manual-
It should tell you the optimum temperatures for operation, and the damage point of High / Low temp's.

Humidity is the enemy.

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by man-009 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:10 am

will do. thanks...

blanik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:56 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by blanik » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:31 am

pointless tread now
Last edited by blanik on Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by pflosi » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:50 pm

a mate told me once that he used to put his 303 in the freezer before recording cause it sounds better then :)

User avatar
clubbedtodeath
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:12 am

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by clubbedtodeath » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:45 pm

:idea:
Last edited by clubbedtodeath on Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TrondC
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:47 am
Gear: Machinedrum UW & Monomachine Mk2's
Korg KP3 & Zero 4
Band: Siesta Submarina

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by TrondC » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:07 pm

totally OT, but Old Iron Giant, that avatar... W T F? :D I love japaneese utter randomness :D

User avatar
stephen
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:04 pm
Gear: Laptop
House Brick
Renoise
Loomer Aspect
FM8
Location: UK

Re: c-ya

Post by stephen » Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:37 am

This is weird.... someone quits and then there's some weather talk....

Edit: oh wait, looks like a wrong-thread post. Oops... (exit stage left, whistling nonchalantly)
Stephen(2)

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by space6oy » Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:20 am

TrondC wrote:totally OT, but Old Iron Giant, that avatar... W T F? :D I love japaneese utter randomness :D

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:56 am

pflosi wrote:a mate told me once that he used to put his 303 in the freezer before recording cause it sounds better then :)
I wonder how he found that out in the first place?

KLAXON
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:54 am
Location: Right here...

Re: c-ya

Post by KLAXON » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:03 am

Was the OP embarrassed by his question or something?

Did someone attack him in the thread?

Why so many edits and the "c-ya, I'm out" thing? I'm confused...

:dontknow:
.....i have some things that create and sculpt sound.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by pflosi » Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:28 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
pflosi wrote:a mate told me once that he used to put his 303 in the freezer before recording cause it sounds better then :)
I wonder how he found that out in the first place?
I don't know... good question :lol:

User avatar
tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3218
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:51 am
Real name: Steve
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently
Location: Sydney, australia.(I moved)

Re: synths in the cold......

Post by tekkentool » Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:29 am

pflosi wrote:
Stab Frenzy wrote:
pflosi wrote:a mate told me once that he used to put his 303 in the freezer before recording cause it sounds better then :)
I wonder how he found that out in the first place?
I don't know... good question :lol:
my guess is he was high.

where's dr. sine around when you need high advice?

Locked