Page 2 of 2

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:57 am
by Hugo76
StepLogik wrote:
balma wrote: ...
I still having their original records, on cassette. Also Technotronics, Apotheosis, L.A. Style (James Brown is dead) and a lot of electronic music from those years.

Searching those videos on youtube gives me flashbacks....
after reading this thread i've been going back and listening to all those early tunes. good stuff :D

of all that "pop techno" stuff, i think technotronic is my favorite. thick, heavy Matrix-12 sounds all over the place.

right now i'm playing Apotheosis - Put me in a Trance and completely grooving. :lol: if you played that at a club now you'd be boo'd off the tables.
Oh, there's definately some cool stuff also among the more commercial stuff from the period. L.A. Style had some pretty cool tracks ("Balloony", "I'm Raving"), alongside many long forgotten acts. 2 Unlimited made some of the worst stuff imo. Funny period really; techno compilations of the day often featured stuff from 2 Unlimited & Capella alongside brilliant tracks from Human Resource, Ramirez etc. Crazy times, which were also the most awesome times :D

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:04 pm
by CapnMarvel
From the SOS article:
The S1100 features both the direct to disk recording software and a massive 16Mb of RAM
:lol:

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:25 pm
by ItsMeOnly
CapnMarvel wrote:From the SOS article:
The S1100 features both the direct to disk recording software and a massive 16Mb of RAM
:lol:
What's so funny?

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:13 pm
by balma
He's having fun with the adjective "massive" they gave to the memory of the Akai 1100.

for early 90ies is a good number. But I think the S1100 is 2Mb only.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:36 pm
by ItsMeOnly
balma wrote:He's having fun with the adjective "massive" they gave to the memory of the Akai 1100.

for early 90ies is a good number. But I think the S1100 is 2Mb only.
it was 4-board design, 32 MB addressing space. There's a mistake about 16 MB probably: 16 Mwords being 32 MB - a "word" for its processor (NEC V50) is 16-bit, i.e. two bytes long.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:13 pm
by Analogue Crazy
Maybe they used the Alpha Juno Hoover sound somewhere.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:29 pm
by Phenom
There's some pretty obvious presets from a JD800 on the No Limits album. Don't ask me how I know this, I just do, I'm not a fan I swear!

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:43 am
by Don Solaris
balma wrote:this is the gear. mostly analog Roland stuff:

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1995_ar ... cosey.html
Care to explain what C&C have to do with 2 Unlimited?

:?:

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 6:17 pm
by vicd
(necroposter in thread :o )

Am I correct assuming the synth in music video for "Get Ready for This" is a Casio CZ-1?
@0:19, @2:36, also in less clear frames.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:52 am
by Yekuku
It definitely looks like a casio CZ-1 , but I have my doubts if it has been used in the production.
In the video only the front persons appear and not the real producers, so they could have brought anything ( the less heavy gear) during the shootings.
It is also worth looking for gear list from T99 and Quadrophonia, as all of these Belgian groups had common members.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:19 pm
by Music Bird
I remember reading a now lost article about Belgian techno producers and the SQ80 and ESQ-1 for some tones. I also hear TX-81z, Alpha Juno 2, and CZ in 2 Unlimited’s songs, I have a feeling there’s Kurzweil K2000S somewhere in the synth layers. The acid part sounds like a 303 or a sampler.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:41 pm
by madtheory
Yekuku wrote:( the less heavy gear)
I know what you mean, but if I can joke for a second, a CZ-1 weighs about 12kg, about 1kg more than a K2000 LOL so not "the less heavy gear" my guess is it was used for its looks, it fits with their aesthetic IMO.

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:07 pm
by Yekuku
Haha ! I had no idea that it was so heavy!

Re: Synths used by 2 Unlimited

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:18 am
by madtheory
LOL yes it's a surprise if you're used to the far more common plastic cased Casio CZ-101/ 1000 or all the home keyboards. The CZ-1, 3000 and 5000 are in pressed steel shells. The VZ-1 is even nicer, it's folded (I think that's the right term) aluminium.

And we still don't really know what gear they used!!