Roland MSQ-100!

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
Arturo00
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:35 am
Gear: @}-,-`-
Band: Hard Science
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Arturo00 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:38 pm

A few weeks ago I was at my local used music store and spotted an MSQ-100. The price was right so I picked it up. Not really sure how I could use it, the thing sat around pretty much unused. Till today!

Slowly, one by one, I discovered that all three of my TR drum machines can be synced up with the MSQ either as a slave or a master. Plus, now that I have MIDI syncing the 707 and 909 instead of sync24, I can trigger their tones from my DAW. Yes!

I have to say, this thing is the perfect, cheap, (somewhat) little MIDI/Sync24 interface between my DAW and gear! Now I don't have to reroute all my MIDI cables if I want to use the drum machines on their own and in sync! Just the flick of a switch and presto, it's the master! Flick it again, and shazaam, it's a slave to my DAW!

Does anyone use this thing to sequence their synths? I probably won't be using any of the MIDI record functions, but I'm curious to know how that aspect of it works. It seems a little cumbersome. Anyone else have a different use for theirs?

If you have a setup that includes a DAW or other master device syncing Roland drum machines with Sync24 that you also want to use in stand alone, I highly suggest tracking one of these down.

Anyway, I'm thrilled!
Haves: SCI Prophet 5 rev3.3 Moog Multimoog Roland Jupiter4, Juno60, RE201, SH101, TR707, TR808, TR909 Korg Polysix, Poly 800 II, Kaosillator Hammond L112, X5 w/ Leslie 760 Paia Fatman Casio VL-Tone, SK1 Gakken SX-150

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Hybrid88 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:51 am

Cool, I'm in the same situation - saw it cheap locally so I grabbed it. I did try recording MIDI with a V-Synth and that was ok but now I think it's just easier to use the computer, you can edit and save much easier with the comp.

So, the thing is now basically not getting much use.

But now you say about the Synch, I'll have to try it with my 606 that I only just got recently - could be quite handy to have around ;)

alspacka
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by alspacka » Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:49 am

I love how it looks

Virgule
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:46 pm

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Virgule » Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:28 am

:)
Last edited by Virgule on Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

volumetrik
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by volumetrik » Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:49 am

Can you sync multiple Sync24 devices with it?

User avatar
Arturo00
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:35 am
Gear: @}-,-`-
Band: Hard Science
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Arturo00 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:46 pm

volumetrik wrote:Can you sync multiple Sync24 devices with it?
Not directly. But if you get a Sync24 splitter you're home free! - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 0337195618

I got the MIDI - 3XSync24 converter from this guy. Thing worked pretty well for me. But now that I have the MSQ-100, the splitter won't get much use.
Haves: SCI Prophet 5 rev3.3 Moog Multimoog Roland Jupiter4, Juno60, RE201, SH101, TR707, TR808, TR909 Korg Polysix, Poly 800 II, Kaosillator Hammond L112, X5 w/ Leslie 760 Paia Fatman Casio VL-Tone, SK1 Gakken SX-150

volumetrik
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by volumetrik » Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:10 pm

cool thanks!

User avatar
Arturo00
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:35 am
Gear: @}-,-`-
Band: Hard Science
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Arturo00 » Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:07 pm

Did I mention the MSQ's magnets on Its bottom panel. Makes placing it on my JP-4 risk free. Now that was a pleasant suprise!
Haves: SCI Prophet 5 rev3.3 Moog Multimoog Roland Jupiter4, Juno60, RE201, SH101, TR707, TR808, TR909 Korg Polysix, Poly 800 II, Kaosillator Hammond L112, X5 w/ Leslie 760 Paia Fatman Casio VL-Tone, SK1 Gakken SX-150

User avatar
Dane_Xoth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:42 am
Gear: Attack uWXT Edition uQ Prophecy, W/S ex, MS 2Kr ER1 EA1 RADIAS
A X V Bk Br D SB Station,
DJ70mII R-70 S760
Spectrum Bass+Synth
FB383
Absinthe
Band: Dane[X]oth, Dortmunder
Location: Toronto

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Dane_Xoth » Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:09 am

I recently pulled my out of storage to sequence my 'Novation' rack.

Thinking that since it was only one 'track' i would use it on just my Drumstation.

But i noticed when setting the MIDI channel .... before CH '1' there is a '--' setting.
OMNI mode, records ANY incoming ch # and chucks it back out.

I was able to do overdubs across multiple channels, drumstation on 10, BassStation on 5, Super on 6.....
It's a one track sequencer, but multiple channels.

Then it threw a total hissy fit and crashed.
Bend it to fit, Paint it to match.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:08 pm

Editing on the MSQ100 is a nightmare. The very low event count makes it pretty useless in today's MIDI climate. Yes, you can record 16 channels at once but if the stream is full of arpeggios, drum patterns and controller data you'll fill up the memory really quickly.

How much do they go for nowadays? I bought one around 1989 for $25.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Roland MSQ-100!

Post by Hybrid88 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:17 pm

meatballfulton wrote:...How much do they go for nowadays? I bought one around 1989 for $25.
About $70 give or take.

Post Reply