Blofeld and Dark Energy.

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
crispy
Gear: E-MU PROTEUS 2500, NOVATION REMOTE 25 SL

Blofeld and Dark Energy.

Post by crispy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:54 am

Hi, I'm on the go to get a waldorf Blofeld keyboard and I would like to add to my setup a small analog like the Doepfer Dark Energy. Here's my question: Is it possible to run an arpeggiator from the Blofeld via a midi channel to play the Dark Energy while playing another part on the keyboard with a sound of the Blofeld. I'm a kind of newbie with midi processing and waldorf does not communicate that information both on the website or the manual.
I've read many topics on this forum and there seem to have here a lot of gear-addict guys who should have the answer.
Thanks a lot!

Forgive my bad english but I'm french and need practicing :mrgreen:

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Blofeld and Dark Energy.

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:39 am

Not sure if you can on the Blofeld, what you want to look for in the manual is multitimbral settings. It can be done on other synths.

crispy

Post by crispy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:26 am

The manual is not very clear about midi sending. I could probably send midi note on/note off on a midi channel but nothing about the possibility to have a zone of the keyboard affected to an external gear and another one to an internal sound, but can you ask a 700€ synth to behave as a masterkeyboard; the manual lacks information about these possibilities. If some other synths in that price range offer this way to work (basically for live use), i'm opened to any suggestions.

DocT

Post by DocT » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:07 am

No, the Bolfeld arpeggiator doesn't sen it's data via midi, and no, the Blofeld kreyboard doesn't have master keyboard abilities for controlling external gear.

crispy

Post by crispy » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:47 am