FAO Sherman filter owners

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
Soundwave
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:36 pm

FAO Sherman filter owners

Post by Soundwave » Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:28 pm

Has anyone modded or hacked away of bypassing the overdrive stage?

Don't get me wrong it sounds ace but it's alway on even at low volumes and would be nice like to switch it off for more regular sounds especially synth tones.

Anyone had a peek under the hood, done some modding or got a good workaround?

User avatar
otto
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: Utah

Re: FAO Sherman filter owners

Post by otto » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:16 pm

I had different expectations of the Sherman before I got one. IMO It's really more of a really nice modular distortion box than anything.
hello darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: FAO Sherman filter owners

Post by Joey » Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:39 pm

I can get way more out of it than just distortion... especially if you send the ms20's lfo's out to it, or drum loops. it is MUCH more than just a distortion box.
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

GeneralBigbag
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 10:16 pm
Location: Grad school

Re: FAO Sherman filter owners

Post by GeneralBigbag » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:55 pm

I just boost the incoming signal enough so that I can keep the input knob around 9 o'clock and still trigger the envelopes.
virb.com/ookpikk

Post Reply