List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by guillermotin » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:28 pm

Since I started using the "randomize patch" function on the Blofeld, I've become addicted to it.

I've read in some other post that there is also a midi editor for the JD-800 (which I can't remember the name...) that works in a similar fashion. Korg's Microkorg software editor also features one.

Are there any other software midi editors or synths featuring the "randomize" thing?

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Hugo76 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:52 pm

guillermotin wrote:Since I started using the "randomize patch" function on the Blofeld, I've become addicted to it.
Just a question: is there anything I should be aware of when using randomizing on the Blofeld? Such as additional settings etc. I don't seem to get anything useful out of it other than harsh industrial sounds...

Regarding your question there are a lot of synths in the Reaktor user library that feature excellent randomising functions.

User avatar
projectwoofer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:13 pm
Band: Woofer
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by projectwoofer » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:18 pm

guillermotin wrote:Are there any other software midi editors or synths featuring the "randomize" thing?
Sound quest's Midi quest
http://www.squest.com/
http://www.myspace.com/woofergr
http://www.jumpingfish.gr/Woofer

Casio VZ-10M, Commodore 64 & MSSIAH, Dave Smith Tetra, Kawai K5000R, Korg X5, Roland D-550, Roland JD-990 (w/Vintage Synth card), Waldorf Miniworks 4pole, Yamaha TX7

User avatar
Cumulus
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:48 pm
Band: Cumulus

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Cumulus » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:19 pm

I believe Synplant has some cool features for getting random sound settings.

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by griffin avid » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:25 pm

The Soft Editors from Soundtower (Moog, DSI synths etc) do.

Anything using MIDI Quest/SoundQuest will have a randomize feature and they have a long, long, long list of supported synths- new and old.

Certain VST hosts have random patch/soundbank options so if the soft editor is a vst then it could work like that in many hosts.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by guillermotin » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:35 pm

Hugo76 wrote:
guillermotin wrote:Since I started using the "randomize patch" function on the Blofeld, I've become addicted to it.
Just a question: is there anything I should be aware of when using randomizing on the Blofeld? Such as additional settings etc. I don't seem to get anything useful out of it other than harsh industrial sounds...

Regarding your question there are a lot of synths in the Reaktor user library that feature excellent randomising functions.
Nothing really special, it's just trial and error.
Out of, say, a dozen generated patches, only one or two are barely playable.
I stick to these and use them as a starting point for editing.

Sometimes it's as time consuming as if I had started from nothing, but what I enjoy is that this approach helps me achieve more original results than editing from presets.

The randomize function on the reaktor synths are a nice touch, and I'm sure other soft synths will also have it. I was just curious to know if there are ways of doing the same thing with hardware synths.

User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by guillermotin » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:41 pm

projectwoofer wrote:
guillermotin wrote:Are there any other software midi editors or synths featuring the "randomize" thing?
Sound quest's Midi quest
http://www.squest.com/
I've used Midiquest once on a Korg Z1 and tried the randomize feature... with terrible results. Hundreds of mute patches, not practical at all. It may be that with other synths it works better. I'm yet to try that again.

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by griffin avid » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm

Most of the editors have parameters you can choose from -so if you only randomize certain elements you steer clear of getting nothing but drones or scrambled noise ...etc.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
Mr Knesh
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:06 am
Real name: Roland
Gear: DP/4+ because in order to dive in deep, you have to DP.
Location: Oregon

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Mr Knesh » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:54 pm

EZ Alpha and PG300emu both have really fun randomize features on them.

User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2848
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ
Location: Costa Rica

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by balma » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:28 pm

EMU command stations have the randomize patch function.

I have used it a couple of times since I got them

Don't be lazy!
His sex dungeons are rumored to hold hundreds of people in secret locations around the world.
https://soundcloud.com/balma

User avatar
Offworld
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:24 am

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Offworld » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:12 pm

guillermotin wrote:Since I started using the "randomize patch" function on the Blofeld, I've become addicted to it.

I've read in some other post that there is also a midi editor for the JD-800 (which I can't remember the name...) that works in a similar fashion. Korg's Microkorg software editor also features one.

Are there any other software midi editors or synths featuring the "randomize" thing?
The Prophet VS has a randomize feature as well!

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by StepLogik » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:07 am

projectwoofer wrote:
guillermotin wrote:Are there any other software midi editors or synths featuring the "randomize" thing?
Sound quest's Midi quest
http://www.squest.com/
does it generate a random patch right before it crashes? :lol:

User avatar
Soundwave
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:36 pm

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Soundwave » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:29 am

Waldorf Pulse

NI FM7

maelstrom_808
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:13 am

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by maelstrom_808 » Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:24 am

Virus series has it with variable strength and scope controls

User avatar
Offworld
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:24 am

Re: List of Midi Editors/Synths featuring the "Randomize" button

Post by Offworld » Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:58 am

Hmmm putting a on/off switch on you synth's memory battery might generate some random patches :twisted:

Post Reply