What makes a good synth player?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora

What makes a good synth player?

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:23 pm

I may be posting in the wrong board, sorry in advanced.

Anyway, what makes a good player? The actual chops you have or is it a combination of the chops you have and also the actual knowledge and way you use your specific board?
bonne chance

organsymphony
Gear: an assortment of various friction idiophones
Band: Parrot Fashion

Re: What makes a good synth player?

Post by organsymphony » Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:10 pm

for me its definitely the sounds and the programming/expressiveness.

starting out in music as a guitarist i am so so so so so bored of fast scalic wankery.

the only person that i think pulls off wankery well is the user 'hamsterdunce' on youtube. its the personality.

but a being able to play well and clean and good sounds is most important for me.

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:51 am

sequentialsoftshock wrote:Anyway, what makes a good player? The actual chops you have or is it a combination of the chops you have and also the actual knowledge and way you use your specific board?
It really depends on what kind of music they're playing. There are some genres where you don't even use the keyboard so the programming/knowing your synth is the only thing that matters, whereas some other genres don't need programming chops, playing presets really well is the only thing that's important.

Having both is always going to be advantageous though.

mis psiquicios y yo

Post by mis psiquicios y yo » Mon Apr 12, 2010 6:23 am

His synths :lol:
mis psiquicos y yo