A guitarists perspective on old vs new synths :)

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
theVOID

A guitarists perspective on old vs new synths :)

Post by theVOID » Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:03 pm

Second post from a new member here :)

I have read several posts here and in other places regarding old vs new gear, analog vs va, and that stuff.
My intention is not to start a thread on that particular subject, I use all kinds of soundgenerating and musicgenerating gear myself.
But as a guitarist I have to make an observation:

Why is there a debate at all?
In the guitar community people dont say
"Why are you using old guitars when new cool ones are much cheaper and sound great too?"

Sure there are some old jazz and blues fanatics that insist that only old Fenders/Gibsons are worth using, but in general, the consesus seems to be that how you personally interact with YOUR guitar/s is the primary factor.
Then there is a lot of nerdiness with regards to tubes, pickups etc, but everyone KNOWS that stuff sound different,its up to each person if it matters or not, but there are no debates in the same way it seems to be with synths.

If I get a certain feeling from playing my old 69 fender Mustang and it makes me feel good playing and recording it, then what is the issue? I dont insist that it is superior to all modern gear even though it does sound amazing due to its vintage aging, just a small dial on the EQ makes my modern jaguar sound very similar.

If anything, old guitars are revered by all guitarist, even if they dont use them for practical and financial reasons.
Belive me, the most expensive vintage synths are very cheap compared to vintage guitars ;)

And its far easier to emulate a Gibson Les Paul with a new produc than a ARP 2600.
Even though that new "vintage classic" Gibson will still cost far more than a vintage 2600.. ;)