volume control on modular patch cable

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
highvoltage
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:48 pm

volume control on modular patch cable

Post by highvoltage » Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:22 pm

I have ordered my first semimodular synth, and while im waiting for it, i came up with some questions:

im wondering what happens if you use an audio cable with a volume control potentiometer on it as a patchcable for a modular synth.
What im trying to get to, is that there are modular/ semimodular synths that doesnt have atteunators or adjustable levels for control voltages. SO if you plug a saw wave to the filter CV it will be either zero or full-on modulation.

Now what happens if you use a cable with a volume control on it? Will it act as a voltage reductor and you can set the modulation amount?

Also, can you use stereojacks for patch cables?

Thanks,
Matthew

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by Joey » Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:25 pm

a volume control is basically an attenuator
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by Tidda » Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:13 pm

I'm not an expert but from what I understand is that a volume control potentiometer is most likely a logarithmic potentiometer. For controlling CV a linear taper potentiometer would be much more useful.

wikipedia - Potentiometer

Tidda

User avatar
101 Force
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:57 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by 101 Force » Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:13 am

I'm not too sure how feasible a volume attenuator would be for a modular synth cable, especially since audio signals are often pretty quiet until they reach the final VCA (which I could see potentially damaging certain modules if you were to increase the gain far beyond what they're generally designed to accept).

Check out these cables available from Analogue Solutions however:
Image

Keep in mind these cables can cause the intended voltage to lower, depending on where it's used, as your essentially diverting half the intended energy elsewhere. It's very useful for certain applications regardless.

Also, don't use TRS cables (just TS) unless specified for your modules. TRS cables can cause certain problems (the types of problems that need repair technicians to resolve).
Gear for sale here (Updated: 06/27/2011).

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by pricklyrobot » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:08 am

101 Force wrote:I'm not too sure how feasible a volume attenuator would be for a modular synth cable, especially since audio signals are often pretty quiet until they reach the final VCA (which I could see potentially damaging certain modules if you were to increase the gain far beyond what they're generally designed to accept).
at·ten·u·ate [v. uh-ten-yoo-eyt; adj. uh-ten-yoo-it, -eyt]verb, -at·ed, -at·ing, adjective
–verb (used with object)
1.
to weaken or reduce in force, intensity, effect, quantity, or value: to attenuate desire.

You can't add gain with a volume pot (which you correctly identified as a volume attenuator).
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by skweeegor » Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:13 am

This sounds like it'd be clunky and annoying unless you got somebody to custom manufacture it for you. Why not just buy some attenuators?

User avatar
Sir Nose
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:54 pm
Real name: Bob
Gear: Machinedrum, Octatrack, Moog LP, x0xb0x, Elka Solist 505, Simmons SDS-400
Location: PA

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by Sir Nose » Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:47 am

101 Force wrote: Check out these cables available from Analogue Solutions however:
Image

Keep in mind these cables can cause the intended voltage to lower, depending on where it's used, as your essentially diverting half the intended energy elsewhere. It's very useful for certain applications regardless.
A "Y" cable will split the current, not the voltage. Too many splits and the signal strength can drop too low, but the voltage should stay relatively A-okay.
Funkadelic wrote: nothing is good unless you play with it
all that is good is nasty

User avatar
Juno6
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:34 am
Location: Argentina

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by Juno6 » Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:11 am

highvoltage wrote: Now what happens if you use a cable with a volume control on it? Will it act as a voltage reductor and you can set the modulation amount?
I think it´s a fantastic idea. I never thought about that, but I think it´s a really cool idea if it´s technically applicable.

User avatar
xpander
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:15 am
Gear: UltraProteus, Xpander, 200e, Minimoogs, Radias, Prophet VS, PolyEvolver, Arp 2600
Location: los gatos, california
Contact:

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by xpander » Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:16 am

highvoltage wrote:What im trying to get to, is that there are modular/ semimodular synths that doesnt have atteunators or adjustable levels for control voltages.
it's modular. just add a module to process control voltages.

this is what i use. it's a lot more exotic than simple attenuators but serves that function well:
Image

you might try makenoise's "maths" in euro, another complex processor:
Image

or doepfer's basic & affordable dual attenuators, also in euro:
Image

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by Mooger5 » Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:23 am

The Fonitronik Attenuverting Mixer is a very useful module too. It works as a four attenuator/inverter bank, summing mixer and CV generator.

http://www.schneidersbuero.de/index.php ... URO_BRUTTO

Image
Herrare umanum est.

highvoltage
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by highvoltage » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:14 pm

Thanks for the cool answers!

My fault that i was not specific enough, i'm actually buying a Telemark, which is a semimodular, so additional modules is out of the question for now. Actually the telemark has built in faders for each modulatable location as EXT1-4.
(So even if it sound is inferior to the modular T.O. SEM - which i personally dont care for, and dont even want to cause arguments about it - it offers MUCH more flexibility patch-wise.)
But i just got curious if this solution would work in case if i run out of external CV locations :) )

So you advise not to use TRS, ill have that in mind.

And a linear 10k audio taper would be a good option.

Thanks!

highvoltage
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by highvoltage » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:17 pm

xpander wrote: Image
Woa, this thing looks damn fine! What is it? A Buchla?

User avatar
xpander
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:15 am
Gear: UltraProteus, Xpander, 200e, Minimoogs, Radias, Prophet VS, PolyEvolver, Arp 2600
Location: los gatos, california
Contact:

Re: volume control on modular patch cable

Post by xpander » Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:56 pm

you can always buy something like a minicase on the cheap for a couple utility modules.
highvoltage wrote:Woa, this thing looks damn fine! What is it? A Buchla?
yep- if you look closely on that pic it says "Buchla & Associates" on the bottom of the modules.
Image

Post Reply