Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5928
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:21 pm

Roland has announced Sound Designer editing software for the GAIA SH-01 but the surprise is it's not free: $99 MSRP. That's pretty expensive for such a cheap synth.

More info here.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by griffin avid » Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:26 pm

Expensive yes, but it does way more than most editors.
The free ones and very basic librarians or patch organizers.
This one has the motion capture and a detailed list of all your edits.
That's pretty impressive.

It's also one h**l of a way to learning sound design from the inside out.
It might weigh in a bit under that $99 mark, but yeah, that's a lot for a soft editor.
I can still imagine it coming on the disk for free.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by Hybrid88 » Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:14 pm

Doesn't the Access one come free?, and that does a ton more than your standard editor too.

If so, I don't like where this is going for Roland - why not keep it free, you've already had to fork out a lot for the gear :|

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Well, now the evolver editor doesn't seem so expensive! And it probably does waaaaay more than the Gaia editor will. For half the price. How 'bout that?? But, in all seriousness, with the cost of these machines I think the editor should be free. Yes, it does take time for the software developers and they need to be paid, but c'mon, should Roland not pay the bill? They probably used the same software for factory programs...
bonne chance

User avatar
Syn303
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:46 pm
Gear: Quite a bit...
Band: Syn303
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by Syn303 » Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:08 pm

Roland provide editor software for their current Fantom G, don't see why they shouldn't with GAIA, odd that one indeed. However the likes of Alesis/Akai don't provide editors for the Micron/Miniak, you have to buy a 3rd party editor if you want to edit those two synths. Someone will write an editor for the GAIA soon i think knowing that you have to fork out 99 bucks for it.
| syn303.bandcamp.com | soundcloud.com/syn303 |

smoothcriminal
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:39 pm
Real name: Matt

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by smoothcriminal » Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:11 pm

Isn't the Sound Quest editor like $300? $99 doesn't seem too bad, although they should probably make it expandable to other Roland gear, or at least give buyers a discount on future editors.

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by StepLogik » Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:21 pm

i think that charging for a software editor is kinda lousy. i can somewhat understand the case with DSI since that was developed outside of the company. but if you are going to sell a crippled instrument then charging for a piece of software that unlocks those features is pretty shitty imo. roland's editors are all driven from templates anyway, so unless this one is very unusual, they probably didn't spend too much money/resources developing it.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by atom » Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:11 pm

Well if the midi implementation for that synth is well documented i can write an Ctrlr (editor) for it, just post a request on the http://ctrlr.org forum and i'll get to it once i empty the waiting queue (currently, alesis andromeda, yamaha an1x)
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:56 am

I think Roland are shooting themselves in the foot with this. If they gave away the software they'd probably sell more synths and end up with more money.

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by griffin avid » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:26 am

but if you are going to sell a crippled instrument then charging for a piece of software that unlocks those features is pretty shitty imo.

Yeah, I'd agree if that was the case here, but it's not. The interface of the Gaia is quite simple. If you want the benefit of the soft editor then it is what it is. You don't have to buy it to get plenty of mileage out of the Gaia.

Isn't the Sound Quest editor like $300?
MIDI Quest works with (virtually) ALL your hardware so it's one piece of software for all your hardware synths and other modules. Most other soft editors work with only 1 specific model. That's a huge factor in the price. Plus it did arrive before the soft editor became pretty much standard.

If they gave away the software they'd probably sell more synths and end up with more money.

FREE is obviously everyone's favorite price.
But, I don''t think anyone, including you, would choose to not buy a synth they wanted because the soft editor is $99.

...once i empty the waiting queue (currently, alesis andromeda, yamaha an1x)

I'd pay a pretty penny for a true A6 editor. There's already a mix, soundbank and patch librarian/manager. If you can figure out how to get around that Buffer Hitch, then you'd have a very much needed app. There's also a Mac-only patch randomizer in existence based on....Java.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:34 am

griffin avid wrote:If they gave away the software they'd probably sell more synths and end up with more money.

FREE is obviously everyone's favorite price.
But, I don''t think anyone, including you, would choose to not buy a synth they wanted because the soft editor is $99.
I think that the $99 price could make all the difference if you're comparing two synths against one another, and one has a free editor whereas the other costs more than 10% over the price of the synth.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by atom » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:32 am

What's the buffer hitch in the A6, i wen around the midi buffer errors already, cause all the 80s didgital synths (DX, CZ) have problems when getting too much data too fast, so i added a special delay function that leaks messages at a specified time interval, and the buffer is emptied slow enough for the device but fast enough to get a smooth feeling for the user.

I don't know what are the specifix of the A6, also i'm planning to use NRPNs mostly to get better VST compatibility, and just fill in the NRPN gaps with SysEx messages.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by griffin avid » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:35 am

^ And i would be inclined to think the opposite. I would say This One has an editor that displays my tweaks AND records my every knob turn- holy cow! What a great way to really learn how to make my sounds. Then I would compare the different GUIs and be sold by appearance alone. But we can always speak in the hypothetical...in reality they have been selling well and that was before the soft editor was even announced.

In my mind, a soft editor is a luxury and after thought. I buy hardware to interface with the hardware itself. That singular feature of displaying in text, my tweaks AND showing the waveform live makes this editor a totally different beast. But, if all you want is a librarian then use one of the free ones and keep it moving.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by griffin avid » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:44 am

I'm no A6 guru or intense programmer, but the buffer holds the current patch settings and it doesn't update on its own like every other synth in existence (purposeful exaggeration). I've used about 3 different editors and even had a convo with one of the programmers....matter of fact here is an excerpt from an archived email...

"...when you send a Program or Mix to the currently selected slot, the corresponding RAM location is properly updated BUT THE EDIT BUFFER ISNT !

since the voices are of course controlled by the current "live"
contents of the edit buffer you will only notice / see the updated program when you switch to another Program and back again - this ensures that the edit buffer is updated with the contents of the RAM you have just written too..."


So in usage, you have to send the new patch to the A6 then manually switch to a different preset to have the A6 update and that means the displayed name doesn't match the preset. Alesis didn't/wouldn't/couldn't drop a patch or update to address this quirky behavior. Also, the A6 didn't use a 'logical' or 'standard' set up so everyone has said that making a soft editor is tons of work. That's why companies like Vyzor have been promising one for years. Same with MIDI Quest, it can be a librarian and mixer, but not anything else.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Roland GAIA Editor--end of free software?

Post by atom » Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:29 pm

Well i don't have the A6 but form what i've been reading in the manual it's not that big of a problem.

The buffer problem you talk about is not a big problem i imagine, there are at least two ways to go around it. But i don't want to speak before i get something usable. Like i wrote i'll soon get to that, at the moment i'm fighting the CASIO CZ1000 MIDI battle, and believe me it's a big one.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

Post Reply