New synth player here

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
leftyguitarjoe
Gear: Korg R3, Yamaha PSR 500, Schecter Damien Elite 8 string, Schecter Omen 7 string, Ibanez RG370, Ibanez AE10, Fender Stratocaster, SX 5 string bass
Band: Malodorous

New synth player here

Post by leftyguitarjoe » Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:49 pm

Hey forum. I'm Joe. I've been making music for 7 years now, mainly on guitar and bass, but about a year ago I purchased a Yamaha PSR keyboard. I used it to control VST's on my computer via midi, but I wanted a real deal synth.

I recently picked up a Korg R3 and I'm loving every second I spend with it. I got it almost brand new for under $300.

I wish to improve my technique and skill. For a year, I've basically just been plunking around making noise. I've tried google and have yet to find any tutorials specifically geared for synthesizer players.

Any direction to some warm-ups, exercises, and skill builders would be very much appreciated. I look forward to being a productive member of this community.
Correct handed

ImperatorDX

Re: New synth player here

Post by ImperatorDX » Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:57 pm

Any direction to some warm-ups, exercises, and skill builders
You know, in the synth forum these words have different meanings.

A warm-up: the process an analogue synth undergoes from switching it on until it stabilises itself.

An exercise: this is when you carry your old heavy analogue synths around.

Skill builders: hmmm... this is unknown here.

;)

Welcome to the forum :-)
My music and instrument demos: ImperatorDX

ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea

Post by ninja6485 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:01 pm

congrats on the r3! doesn't that share the same synth engine as the radias?