Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
THEODICY
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:06 am

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by THEODICY » Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:45 am

The one thing I disliked about my SQ-80 was that the LFOs would slow down if there were too many modulations going on. The CPU was underpowered for this synth or something. Normally it wouldn't be an issue unless you were trying to go for sequencing using LFO modulation. I remember seeing a thread a while ago on gearslutz on syncing the LFOs to sequencer tempo and here is the info: http://memi.de/~buchty/ensoniq/transoni ... DF/026.pdf You can get away with probably two LFOs running without a problem. There's other good info in that GS thread: http://www.gearslutz.com/board/electron ... clock.html like how to do a wave sweep! Pretty neat when you think outside the box.


Still, a great piece. I wish I didn't have to sell my SQ-80 but I needed the money at the time and didn't have the room for it after all. Man, that was an ugly synth. ESQ-1 is much prettier for some reason but the SQ is more powerful.

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by loungedumore » Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:54 am

THEODICY wrote: Man, that was an ugly synth. ESQ-1 is much prettier for some reason but the SQ is more powerful.
:lol: indeed . Not a big factor in my choice for the esq-1 , but as I am not looking at it's seq for any real use and not going to miss the drum kits too much either ...still the tera looks nice sitting on it .


Side pondering : I wonder if they ment for it to be named the SQ1 as the E was represent of the Ensoniq logo at the time and later Emu , but it just stuck ?
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

THEODICY
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:06 am

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by THEODICY » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:48 pm

Well, the drums on the SQ-80 are very weak if you were to use them straight up. However, you can select the drum maps as the "oscillator" for sync and AM mode which will give you some of the coolest wacked out noises and patterns only available with the SQ and no other synth. I still kick myself for not sampling that stuff before I sent it off to the gentleman who owns it now. Listen to the last three sound clips on this page if you want to know what it sounds like: http://homepage.mac.com/synth_seal/html/ds_sq80.html

User avatar
esqoner
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by esqoner » Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:58 pm

StepLogik wrote:
Ashe37 wrote: $45-$60 is ridiculous for a battery replacement, but that's probably the going rate. Its a part worth a few dollars , removal of screws, and soldering... yea, i guess labor kills it.
yeah the battery replacement is a real PitA. If you are REALLY good with a soldering iron you can do it without removing the main board, but .

not at all a pita...

and i'm not very good at soldering...i've changed 2...without removing the board...and they still work...haha.

get in there and doooo iiiitttt.

!!

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by StepLogik » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:08 pm

esqoner wrote:
StepLogik wrote:
Ashe37 wrote: $45-$60 is ridiculous for a battery replacement, but that's probably the going rate. Its a part worth a few dollars , removal of screws, and soldering... yea, i guess labor kills it.
yeah the battery replacement is a real PitA. If you are REALLY good with a soldering iron you can do it without removing the main board, but .

not at all a pita...

and i'm not very good at soldering...i've changed 2...without removing the board...and they still work...haha.

get in there and doooo iiiitttt.

!!
did u desolder the leads from the board or battery itself?

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by loungedumore » Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:27 pm

Well it's in the Tech repair shop now . Fingers crossed
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by loungedumore » Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:13 pm

Well update .... Synth went very wacked out before it went to the shop so $70 all is good again . New memory bat , all connectors cleaned and reseated eproms firmly in place had full test of PSU and Mainboard - works great like new ;)
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

rakk95
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:43 pm
Gear: Ensoniq VFX, Ensoniq ESQ-1, Roland JV 880, Alesis QSR, Alesis Micron, Korg Polysix, Yamaha TX802
Location: Louisiana

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by rakk95 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:44 pm

Enjoy. I recently picked up a very used ESQ for dirt cheap and I'm in the middle of a full restoration. Even had a sequencer expansion cart that the previous owner didn't know about. I've done everything from cleaning the keybed to jumpering diodes on non-sounding keys to replacing the memory battery and updating the OS. Last bit of electronic work involves replacing the tactile switches under some broken soft buttons and some cosmetic work. If yuo need any help with anything, just PM me. DY

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by StepLogik » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:08 pm

rakk95 wrote:Enjoy. I recently picked up a very used ESQ for dirt cheap and I'm in the middle of a full restoration. Even had a sequencer expansion cart that the previous owner didn't know about. I've done everything from cleaning the keybed to jumpering diodes on non-sounding keys to replacing the memory battery and updating the OS. Last bit of electronic work involves replacing the tactile switches under some broken soft buttons and some cosmetic work. If yuo need any help with anything, just PM me. DY
have you had a need to replace the two sliders? I've not been able to find a suitable replacement. That is the last item I need to address for my ESQ restoration.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by rhino » Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:11 pm

Synraur (http://www.syntaur.com) used to have them...bought some from them awhile ago.

Not cheap, but exact fit and function.

http://www.syntaur.com/4375.html
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

rakk95
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:43 pm
Gear: Ensoniq VFX, Ensoniq ESQ-1, Roland JV 880, Alesis QSR, Alesis Micron, Korg Polysix, Yamaha TX802
Location: Louisiana

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by rakk95 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:15 pm

Rhino beat me to it with his recommendation to contact Syntaur. Both sliders are 30mm 5k linear taper pots. I've got the Mouser part number at home. I can post it here later. Mine are both good, although I may replace them just to be safe.

Rhino - did you get my note?

DY

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by loungedumore » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:07 pm

According to the http://www.pic101.com/ensoniq/faq.htm#22

This is also the replacement part .... much cheaper .
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Alp ... zeWA%3d%3d

Let me know if you bite and it works as I think my Volume needs replaced too soon .
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by StepLogik » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:34 pm

loungedumore wrote:According to the http://www.pic101.com/ensoniq/faq.htm#22

This is also the replacement part .... much cheaper .
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Alp ... zeWA%3d%3d

Let me know if you bite and it works as I think my Volume needs replaced too soon .
the correct part number in the ESQ faq is no longer available.

The 312-319BF-5K is not quite the right part. The shaft is plastic and too short and will not allow you affix the stock slider cap. I've ordered a couple and they will fit and the shaft is just long enough to protrude through the plastic ring, but its still a bit awkward.

The Syntaur part looks exactly right. Damn, those are $$$$$$$$$$$. :shock:

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by rhino » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:38 pm

Thanks, Loungedumore, missed the Mouser listing ! Mistakenly thought the Ensoniq part had a plastic shaft.
EDIT: even missed the last post (lol)!
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Just got an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Post by loungedumore » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:51 pm

StepLogik wrote:the correct part number in the ESQ faq is no longer available.
The 312-319BF-5K is not quite the right part. The shaft is plastic and too short and will not allow you affix the stock slider cap. I've ordered a couple and they will fit and the shaft is just long enough to protrude through the plastic ring, but its still a bit awkward.

The Syntaur part looks exactly right. Damn, those are $$$$$$$$$$$. :shock:
Suck ! Thanks for the heads up .
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

Post Reply