Jupiter 6 Oscillators

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
laserboy

Jupiter 6 Oscillators

Post by laserboy » Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:55 pm

i saw in the description of the Jupiter 6, it says it has 2 osc´s (2 per voice) = 12 Ocs´s?
how is this possible`? i see it has only 2 osc´s shown on the panel ..im no expert,

Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Jupiter 6 Oscillators

Post by Z » Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:16 pm

Yes, each voice has 2 oscillators. There are 6 voices, for a total of 12 oscillators. Put the Jupe in UNISON mode and you'll have 12 osc of analog fatness.

laserboy

Post by laserboy » Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:54 pm

Z wrote:Yes, each voice has 2 oscillators. There are 6 voices, for a total of 12 oscillators. Put the Jupe in UNISON mode and you'll have 12 osc of analog fatness.

but u have only control for 2 osc´s right?

calyx93
Gear: PPG Wave 2.2, Waldorf μWave x3, Roland JP6+V-Synth, SCI P5+600, Ensoniq SQ-80, Kawai K-3

Post by calyx93 » Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:09 pm

laserboy wrote:
Z wrote:Yes, each voice has 2 oscillators. There are 6 voices, for a total of 12 oscillators. Put the Jupe in UNISON mode and you'll have 12 osc of analog fatness.

Yes - there aren't any facilities for individual control of each of the 12 VCOs, you have control over each of the 2 VCOs in each voice. Combining them with the unison mode engaged allows you to hear them stacked as a single monophonic cluster which you can further detune from each other with the unison detune knob.
“I have stretched ropes from steeple to steeple; garlands from window to window; golden chains from star to star, and I dance.” - Rimbaud

V301H
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters

Post by V301H » Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:19 am