Page 1 of 2

MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 12:05 am
by RD9
Wow I was just researching info on the MFB-503/522 and I came across the Dominion X photos. This is sort of a tangent, but if the line of MFB mini synths is at all related to Korg's return to analog with the Monotron/Monotribe, I guess MFB is in the forefront.

Image

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 12:24 am
by space6oy
wow - i hadn't heard of that one yet.

[youtube][/youtube]



some info here:
http://www.sequencer.de/blog/index.php?s=mfb

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 4:34 am
by Stab Frenzy
It says Shippmann Filter, I wonder if this has a little bit of Ebbe und Flut in it, would be pretty cool if it did.

edit: Apparently it is the Ebbe und Flut filter, and the whole thing will be under 850 Euros and there's a keyboard version in the works as well. Cool.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 10:04 am
by Alex E
What a cool instrument. Really digging the patch memory.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 11:31 am
by Stab Frenzy
Alex E wrote:What a cool instrument. Really digging the patch memory.
Patch memory? Are you being sarcastic?

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 12:30 pm
by Psy_Free
Sounds evil. Looks like it's destined for the GAS list.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 9:01 pm
by Ashe37
Stab Frenzy wrote:
Alex E wrote:What a cool instrument. Really digging the patch memory.
Patch memory? Are you being sarcastic?

*takes out an arduino and a screwdriver*

Gimme a few minutes.....

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 9:05 pm
by Alex E
Stab Frenzy wrote:
Alex E wrote:What a cool instrument. Really digging the patch memory.
Patch memory? Are you being sarcastic?
oops. I am idiot. :oops:

I was thinking of the doepfer stuff.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:36 am
by Stab Frenzy
What Doepfer stuff has patch memory? I know some of the sequencers have memory but I didn't realise any of their synths did.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:47 am
by maindeglorie
Um... doesn't the Dominion have memory? I was sure that it did. Hence the display.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:50 am
by maindeglorie
Um... doesn't the Dominion have memory? I was sure that it did. Hence the display.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 8:04 am
by GuyaGuy
Sounds hot.
He mentions in the video it will be around 800 EURO.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 8:06 am
by Stab Frenzy
I was under the impression that the display was for setting up things like midi channel, note priority etc. There is no load or save button, and the knob next to it goes from 0-7. It would be a pretty arcane patch storage system if it did have one, which would be a weird thing to cut back on considering the interface has pretty much everything else covered.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Tue May 03, 2011 8:04 am
by maindeglorie
Well here's the weird thing about those knobs next to the display; the one that goes to 7 says "Audio Out" above it, and the other one is some sort of MIDI selector. In the video, the display says 123. So your guess is as good as mine. MFB has always been confusing on some things. The patch memory on the Synth II was a bit weird and arcane if I remember correctly.

Re: MFB Dominion X

Posted: Tue May 03, 2011 12:05 pm
by Stab Frenzy
The writing saying audio out and midi out are labeling for the jacks on the back panel.