Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by guillermotin » Thu May 05, 2011 4:46 pm

Recently I found the cassette interface to be quite a useful feature to store patches on my Juno 106 and Korg Dw-8000, so much that I prefer using that over MIDI. Just record the output as any other sound file and save it in my projects folder. Neat and plain simple.

I know that the Prophet 5 and Moog Source also include this interface, but I'm still wondering: are there many other synths with this feature?

User avatar
Automatic Gainsay
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3962
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:22 am
Real name: Marc Doty
Gear: Minimoog, 2600, CS-15, CS-50, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, S2, Korg MS-20 Mini, 3 Volcas, Pro 2, Leipzig, Pianet T, Wurli 7300, Wurli 145-A, ASR-10, e6400.
Band: Godfrey's Cordial
Location: Tacoma
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Automatic Gainsay » Thu May 05, 2011 4:57 pm

The Ensoniq ESQ-1 has it. I remember hours of time lost to trying to find the perfect audio level, and more hours lost to verifications which didn't pass. Tape dropout, solar winds, the Northern Lights, or something more obscure... the recording just wasn't satisfactory to the ESQ.
‎"I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question." -Charles Babbage
"Unity and Mediocrity are forever in bed together." -Zane W.
http://www.youtube.com/automaticgainsay

User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Gear: Synths 'n' stuff.
Band: Klangzeit
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Psy_Free » Thu May 05, 2011 5:04 pm

Ensoniq ESQ-1, Korg Poly800, Korg Polysix, Yamaha DX-21 are 4 I can think of immediately. There are quite a lot.

Edit : Oh and a Casio CZ-5000.
Last edited by Psy_Free on Thu May 05, 2011 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
Bandcamp 1
Bandcamp 2
Soundcloud

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Z » Thu May 05, 2011 5:04 pm

Welcome to 1980's technology!

Akai AX60

Kawai SX210

Korg PolySix, Poly 800, EX-800

Moog MemoryMoog

Oberheim Matrix 6R, Matrix 12

Roland JP-6, JU-60, MKS-50

SCI Prophet 600

A lot of PPG & Yamaha synths, drum machines & sequencers have tape back-up but require a special DIN cable with coordinating mini-jacks on the other end.

All the Roland TR series drum machines except 606 & 808 have tape back up, too.
Last edited by Z on Thu May 05, 2011 6:38 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by CS_TBL » Thu May 05, 2011 5:06 pm

Korg Poly61
"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by guillermotin » Thu May 05, 2011 5:18 pm

Wow, that many yet?

Never had a chance to check that Ensoniq, but with my synths the tape works flawlessly.

This seems to be a common feature on 80's Roland gear. I only find it unusual that my Jx10 lacks one, as it would've made my life much easier...

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Z » Thu May 05, 2011 5:27 pm

guillermotin wrote: This seems to be a common feature on 80's Roland gear. I only find it unusual that my Jx10 lacks one, as it would've made my life much easier...
Memory Carts were much easier, plus they give you immeidate access to additional sounds. Plus, that was a way for manufacutres to make more money!
psy-free wrote: Edit : Oh and a Casio CZ-5000.
Are you sure? I just looked at photos of a CZ-5000 I recently sold and I don't see any cassette jacks on the rear and nothing on the front panel regarding tape. I'm just going by my photos, though, and not first-hand knowledge.
Last edited by Z on Thu May 05, 2011 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by guillermotin » Thu May 05, 2011 5:30 pm

Z wrote:
guillermotin wrote: This seems to be a common feature on 80's Roland gear. I only find it unusual that my Jx10 lacks one, as it would've made my life much easier...
Memory Carts were much easier, plus they give you immeidate access to additional sounds. Plus, that was a way for manufacutres to make more money!
Yeah, I agree... they made us buy those M64c carts only to store patch banks. At least this was a better idea than using floppy disks!

schmidtc
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Virginia / Paris

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by schmidtc » Thu May 05, 2011 5:42 pm

Question: What are people using for the cassette recorders?

My walkman doesn't cut it ;) I'd really like a cassette recorder with a speed adjustment, as I deleted all the patches in my T8 this week trying to load the factory patches from a stupid wine country tape that was recorded at 90% speed.

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by StepLogik » Thu May 05, 2011 6:03 pm

i think a lot of people use their computer for recording the carrier signal. the line in/out jacks should work fine. you should be able to control the speed as well.


its a miracle those cassette interfaces ever worked. the few implementations i've seen have been pretty shoddy.

User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Gear: Synths 'n' stuff.
Band: Klangzeit
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Psy_Free » Thu May 05, 2011 6:16 pm

Z wrote:Are you sure? I just looked at photos of a CZ-5000 I recently sold and I don't see any cassette jacks on the rear and nothing on the front panel regarding tape. I'm just going by my photos, though, and not first-hand knowledge.
Yep. It has an 'MT' terminal output on the back which allows you to save/load patches or sequencer data. Never used it myself though.
"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
Bandcamp 1
Bandcamp 2
Soundcloud

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by nathanscribe » Thu May 05, 2011 6:25 pm

LinnDrum, Bit 99, Yamaha CS-40m, Yamaha TX-81Z (with a special cable).

I'm pretty sure the Casio RZ-1 has this too, but my memory is hazy.

Funny, isn't it - back in the 80s we regularly entrusted our data to tape, and it went wrong fairly often - now it's super-easy and super-reliable to use a DAW to keep these files nice and organised. Win!

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Z » Thu May 05, 2011 6:40 pm

Psy_Free wrote:
Z wrote:Are you sure? I just looked at photos of a CZ-5000 I recently sold and I don't see any cassette jacks on the rear and nothing on the front panel regarding tape. I'm just going by my photos, though, and not first-hand knowledge.
Yep. It has an 'MT' terminal output on the back which allows you to save/load patches or sequencer data. Never used it myself though.
Ah! That's what that is. Looks like you'll need a special cable like with PPG & Yamaha stuff.

User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Gear: Synths 'n' stuff.
Band: Klangzeit
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Psy_Free » Thu May 05, 2011 6:47 pm

Z wrote:Looks like you'll need a special cable like with PPG & Yamaha stuff
Yes indeed.
"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
Bandcamp 1
Bandcamp 2
Soundcloud

User avatar
guillermotin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:37 am
Location: Somewhere in the outer ring...

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by guillermotin » Thu May 05, 2011 6:52 pm

nathanscribe wrote:LinnDrum, Bit 99, Yamaha CS-40m, Yamaha TX-81Z (with a special cable).

I'm pretty sure the Casio RZ-1 has this too, but my memory is hazy.

Funny, isn't it - back in the 80s we regularly entrusted our data to tape, and it went wrong fairly often - now it's super-easy and super-reliable to use a DAW to keep these files nice and organised. Win!

Yeah, that's the point. Today's reliability is much better than the tapes used back in the day.

Now, I'm curious about the Tx-81z cable, as I own one of those myself. I'd love to have more info on that.

Post Reply