Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
vcs3
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:22 am
Gear: BitOne,DX7II, M-1000, ESQm, Procussion, NanoSynth, VL1, P2500, K5000R, FS1r, JX-3P, Ju-60,HR-16, CZ1000, RX-5,K2600S, Nord G1r, G2, XL-7, Shuthri-1
Location: Lusitania

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by vcs3 » Thu May 05, 2011 7:03 pm

Cruma Bit One, JX-3P

User avatar
V301H
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:58 am
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by V301H » Thu May 05, 2011 7:20 pm

The so-called Shoebox Cassette Recorders that worked best for data storage seem to still be available:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... sette.html







Make sure they have line in recording as some will only record with the internal mic.
Prophet 5 rev.2, Pro-One, Juno 60, Jupiter 6, Matrix 12, OB8, MS20, Poly 800, CS70M, DX-7, CP35, Casio PX-5S, Hammond C3/M102, Vox Continental/Super Continental, Gibson G101, Farfisa Compact, RMI 300A, Pianet N, Combo Pianet, S770, S760, S50, NS3C

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3503
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Z » Thu May 05, 2011 7:21 pm

Image

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by meatballfulton » Thu May 05, 2011 7:47 pm

nathanscribe wrote:Funny, isn't it - back in the 80s we regularly entrusted our data to tape, and it went wrong fairly often
That's because back then PCs cost as much or more than the synths themselves. Tape ports were on most programmable synths until the very late 80s. I remember being disappointed that the Korg M1 had no tape port and no floppy drive. That meant data backup was impossible unless you had other hardware (computer, sequencer, data filer) that could read sys-ex dumps and save them to tape or floppy.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Micke
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2329
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Micke » Thu May 05, 2011 8:17 pm

The OB-series; OB-X, OB-Xa and OB-8 had a built-in cassette interface if I'm not mistaken.
You could save and load patches with the OB-1 also, but in this case you needed a special
cassette interface box (external). From what I understand though very few of those devices
were made. The interface apparently worked with the old Four and Eight voice polyphonics too.

Here's pic of a Four voice with this rare cassette interface:
http://www.synthfind.com/wp-content/upl ... /fvs11.jpg
Last edited by Micke on Thu May 05, 2011 10:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"The (Yamaha) CS-80 is a step ahead in keyboard control, and a generation behind in digital control" -- Dan Wyman, Jan 1979

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by nathanscribe » Thu May 05, 2011 8:23 pm

PCs weren't even very affordable well into the 90s. Hence the popularity of the Atari ST and Commodore Amiga. I remember selling the then-new Pentium machines when Win95 was a novelty, with large (what, 14"?) monitors and, oh, two floppy drives and a HD of a few Meg. Yours for a mere £1.5k or thereabouts. :lol:

Anyway, tape storage was tried and tested, it was easy and cheap to implement and the medium was plentiful. I think it's great that we can still use those things with increased stability now we record the data digitally, swap patches instantly, etc. Cassettes were terrible for not working well on other machines than the one used for recording.

User avatar
Automatic Gainsay
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3962
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:22 am
Real name: Marc Doty
Gear: Minimoog, 2600, CS-15, CS-50, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, S2, Korg MS-20 Mini, 3 Volcas, Pro 2, Leipzig, Pianet T, Wurli 7300, Wurli 145-A, ASR-10, e6400.
Band: Godfrey's Cordial
Location: Tacoma
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Automatic Gainsay » Thu May 05, 2011 9:02 pm

The great thing about the ESQ-1 is that it's also capable of dumping data via MIDI. This incredible device known as a "disk drive" came out, which I bought immediately so as never to have to go through the trauma of tape again.
It was a rackmount floppy drive for MIDI backup. I don't think they're very common.
‎"I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question." -Charles Babbage
"Unity and Mediocrity are forever in bed together." -Zane W.
http://www.youtube.com/automaticgainsay

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Alex E » Thu May 05, 2011 9:06 pm

@AG

Were you using an Alesis Datadisk?
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by meatballfulton » Thu May 05, 2011 9:21 pm

Automatic Gainsay wrote:The great thing about the ESQ-1 is that it's also capable of dumping data via MIDI.
You could also dump to a Mirage that was MIDIed to the ESQ-1. I bought an SQ-80 largely because it had a disk drive and used it to save dumps for all my other gear for many years.

The ESQ-1/SQ-80 tape port doubled as an FSK/MIDI synchronizer. I used that with my Portastudio for a long time.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by nathanscribe » Thu May 05, 2011 10:44 pm

meatballfulton wrote:The ESQ-1/SQ-80 tape port doubled as an FSK/MIDI synchronizer. I used that with my Portastudio for a long time.
That reminds me, so does the tape port on the Yamaha RX-11.

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by StepLogik » Thu May 05, 2011 10:53 pm

Alex E wrote:@AG

Were you using an Alesis Datadisk?
i used an Alesis datadisk for years. For my two MMT-8's, that was the best way to back them up since their tape backup was very unreliable (at least with the recorders i tried).

EdGs
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:01 am
Gear: Prophet 5 and Emulator 1, both are works in progress
Epiphone LesPaul Ace Frehley
Hondo Formula One Vee
Fender Gemini IV
Location: Florida

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by EdGs » Thu May 05, 2011 11:23 pm

schmidtc wrote:Question: What are people using for the cassette recorders?

My walkman doesn't cut it ;) I'd really like a cassette recorder with a speed adjustment, as I deleted all the patches in my T8 this week trying to load the factory patches from a stupid wine country tape that was recorded at 90% speed.
Interesting that you mention the WCS tape recorded at 90% speed, I bought a patch tape for my P5 from them and had exactly the same issue. I used Audacity to get it close to the right speed and was somewhat successful loading to my Prophet, but haven't had a chance to finish it up yet.

I'd hate to think it was on purpose that this was done.....

astroidmist
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:55 am

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by astroidmist » Thu May 05, 2011 11:27 pm

Alesis HR-16 and SR-16 drum machines. And Casio CZ-5000... probably the other CZ's too.
If I remember correctly, also the Korg DW-8000

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3503
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by Z » Fri May 06, 2011 12:07 am

I just got home and took a quick look at my gear and discovered the following also have cassette interfaces:

Casio RZ-1 (via "MT" jack)
Elka Synthex
Linn LM-2
Oberheim DX, OB-X, OB-Xa & OB-8 (as Micke thought earlier)
Roland Jupiter 8

Curious as to why it was left out of Ensoniq ESQ-M and Korg EX-8000 since their keyboard versions have them.

User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies
Contact:

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Post by tim gueguen » Fri May 06, 2011 12:24 am

The Roland MC8 Microcomposer was another piece of equipment that used cassette backup. Because of how long it took to save a sequence Roland developed the MTR100 digital cassette recorder for use with the followup MC4 Microcomposer. The Sequential Circuits Poly Sequencer came with a built in microcassette recorder for backup.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

Post Reply