Page 3 of 4

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 12:52 am
by Automatic Gainsay
Alex E wrote:@AG

Were you using an Alesis Datadisk?
I used some prototype version of something like that, but the other one I've seen (which I actually possess, in storage, but belongs to a friend of mine) is a Datadisk.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 1:48 am
by knolan
I use the CS40M, Prophet T8, Juno 106 and Jupier6; all of which save to tape.

I also use CS70M and have two blank books of data strips - but need more if anyone knows a source for them. And I bought a Prophet10 a few years ago though haven't incorporated it into my set up yet - again if anyone knows a source of P10 mini-cassettes I'd be grateful (I realise that's highly unrealistic).

Question - do you back up regularly or if the battery ran out on those synths right now, would you loose sounds? I'm cutting it fine and intend doing a back to Adobe Audition this summer.


Actually I'd like to experiment by looking at the audio output from one of these synths - say the CS40M with only 20 memory locations - and see if I can identify the individual programs and their carrier separator. Then, reorganise them by cutting and pasting individual program audio segments into a different order in Adobe Audition and then retransmit back to the CS40M. I can’t see a reason why it shouldn't work. Perhaps it'd be a way to build up a library of named sounds within Adobe Audition and then add together whatever combinations I want to transmit to the synth depending on the project / requirement.


Kevin

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 2:25 am
by guillermotin
knolan wrote:I use the CS40M, Prophet T8, Juno 106 and Jupier6; all of which save to tape.

Actually I'd like to experiment by looking at the audio output from one of these synths - say the CS40M with only 20 memory locations - and see if I can identify the individual programs and their carrier separator. Then, reorganise them by cutting and pasting individual program audio segments into a different order in Adobe Audition and then retransmit back to the CS40M. I can’t see a reason why it shouldn't work. Perhaps it'd be a way to build up a library of named sounds within Adobe Audition and then add together whatever combinations I want to transmit to the synth depending on the project / requirement.


Kevin
That would be quite interesting. I've tried to do some basic editing on the recorded waveforms from tape outputs in order to ajust the playback level and it worked fine, as some synths will only work if the signal level is high enough. I think that editing patch orders would be a very plausible way to reorganize a memory bank, but as far as I remember I couldn't identify a single pattern in the waveform to begin with. Maybe other synths are easier to manage,

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 7:26 am
by mute
Most if not all Yamaha DX's have tape back up.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
by LesDeuxLoveOrchestra
there's a prophet 5 windows app floating around that converts the audio from p5's cassette interface to sysex. sure would like to see that ported over to mac os x.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 3:24 pm
by LesDeuxLoveOrchestra
ps these days i use aiff copies of my old cassettes and they work great.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Sun May 08, 2011 3:18 am
by astroidmist
I used to save my CZ-5000 patches on minidiscs. It was great because the minidisc tracks had names and I didn't need a whole computer, just a portable minidisc player with the volume cranked up a bit. At the time it seemed revolutionary and cool since the minidisc uses ATRAC compression (similar to MP3 encoding).

I was surprised to see that the HR-16 drum machines still sold today STILL have the tape output.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Sun May 08, 2011 4:57 pm
by cornutt
EdGs wrote: Interesting that you mention the WCS tape recorded at 90% speed, [...] I'd hate to think it was on purpose that this was done.....
Probably not. Back in the day, inexpensive belt-drive cassette machines were doing good if they were within +/- 10%. And only the higher-end machines had speed adjustments.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 10:12 pm
by madtheory
Z wrote:
psy-free wrote: Edit : Oh and a Casio CZ-5000.
Are you sure? I just looked at photos of a CZ-5000 I recently sold and I don't see any cassette jacks on the rear...
The CZ-5000 has a DIN socket for the tape interface. Essential if you use the sequencer because it only holds one song at a time. None of the other CZs used tape.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 3:01 am
by CZ Rider
The Moog Source was my first tape interface. Could save the 16 patches and all the sequence data. You had to buy a special cable at Radio Shack with the DIN on one end and 3 mini plugs on the other end. I remember having to run the shoebox tape recorder off the batteries, because the crappy AC adapter I had would create noise that would corrupt the tape data.
The Yamaha CS-20M also has a tape interface, though I never tried it.
madtheory wrote: None of the other CZs used tape.
Don't forget the CZ-230S. The original Casio workstation had the "MT" DIN interface for saving your sequence data to tape.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 1:13 pm
by madtheory
Ah, cool! I always forget that one. :)

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 8:21 pm
by nogginj
Roland / Boss DR-550 mk II drum machine does it.

I tried backing up to MP3 before I knew the difference and it did not work.

-j

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:32 pm
by madtheory
8 bit 11kHz WAV works with everything I've tried- CZ-5000, TR-505, Crumar Bit One.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 2:21 am
by cornutt
madtheory wrote:8 bit 11kHz WAV works with everything I've tried- CZ-5000, TR-505, Crumar Bit One.
Not surprising; a lot of those cassette interfaces used modem circuits designed to work on analog phone lines, which are limited to 4 kHz.

Re: Synths that store patches through a cassette interface

Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 4:40 am
by astroidmist
Whoever invented the tape data storage methods was bright. It's pretty cool even though it's limited.